We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Ocean is so clean and warm, beach is a hit and miss especially in the fall when there are no south swells

I do travel often to Kailua Kona and usually try to swim at Magic Sands, the ocean here is great... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
ck0421
,
Maui, Hawaii
watch out for the waves

Depending on the tide you have an excellent place for boogie boarding or getting smashed against... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
GueBi
,
Vienna, Austria
Read all 805 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kailua-Kona
from USD 230.00
More Info
from USD 182.30
More Info
from USD 65.00
More Info
from USD 80.00
More Info
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
336
306
135
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
306
135
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beach body surfing boogie boarding lifeguard on duty white sand disappearing sands big waves close to town playing in the waves tiny beach volleyball court volleyball net shore break popular beach wave action nice sand alii drive
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018

I love this beach! It has enough parking, nice restrooms, the showers have high water pressure (trust me you need it in order to get the sand out of all the hidden places lol) and there is a food truck right on the corner. Lots of beautiful white sand but be careful since sometimes there is a lot of rock and you don't want to hurt yourself. Enjoy!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Anastasia212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

I do travel often to Kailua Kona and usually try to swim at Magic Sands, the ocean here is great and most people come to boggie board, the waves break hard usually so for me its better for swimming.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ck0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Small white sand beach on Alii Drive. It’s Magic because the sand disappears! Usually not there in the winter months and just left in October. Big west swell will take it away. Can be very dangerous as well with strong waves but there is a lifeguard on duty. Even if you don’t go in the water great people/boogie board watching.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Krgkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

We were lucky enough to stop by when some young teens were using skim boards like acrobats, doing back flips and twists to entertain themselves and us too! Lots of people waded out to their neck and just let the waves lift them up and and in over and over. I described watching them as a wide screen human aquarium. Very cool. we also saw fish in the waves. Also very cool.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank rockysmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Magic Sands Beach - beautiful beach on Ali Drive in Kona HI, not too far from The Royal Kona Resort - Beautiful whit sand, blue water, swimming & Snorkeling

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank pdub62258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews