We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Definately First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii
Ranked #9 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
Prince George
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definately First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I have previously travelled to warm destinations, but this was our first trip to Hawaii and after spending 12 absolutely wonderful nights staying at the 1st Class B & B, we will definitely be returning. Upon our arrival at the 1st Class B & B we were warmly greeted by the owner of the establishment, Delores, and shown to the private cottage where a few simple directions were provided to us to make our stay more enjoyable.

We spent 10 nights in the cottage which was very private and very comfortable with all the comforts of home. The bed was extremely comfortable, the furnishings and accoutrements were pleasing and worth the expense. The last two nights in the studio were equally as pleasant and comfortable.

Fresh towels were supplied daily and the breakfasts prepared by Delores were exceptional examples of first class culinary cuisine. Mornings during breakfast we would sit and chat with Delores; she filled us in on some of the history of Hawaii and local customs of the island. Dolores and her wealth of knowledge regarding the local sights allowed us to miss nothing on our daily excursions. Our only regret is that our time there passed too quickly. At the 1st Class B & B we struck a friendship with Delores we will always treasure and never forget. We would highly recommend the 1st Class B & B for your stay on the big island of Hawaii.

Cheers Delores!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yvettejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The attention to detail is extraordinary. The breakfasts are something to remember. The location and views are excellent. The whole experience is one you will want to come back to...

Room Tip: Either choice is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob43379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We stayed in both accomodations (the cottage and the studio) during our 20 day stay at Big Island. We were here because of the Ironman race.
Both accomodations are spaciuos, very comfortable and are very nicely decorated. They have all facilities to make you feel at home immediately.
Dolores, the lady of the house, was a very friendly and caring host. She is also very straight in her communication which we could appreciate very well.
Breakfast was a real delight and everyday we were surprised with something else.
The surroundings of the premises are very green and quiet. For us it was a perfect location because we wanted to stay away from the crowds.
Next time we come to Big Island (and I hope that will be soon) we'll certainly come back to this place!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

At First Class BB you will be surprised by a first class service at its best and a warm and friendly welcome from Dolores, hostess and owner of this lovely place.

The cottage is spacious and beautifully decorated. You feel at home immediately. Some munchies in the fridge, beautifully crafted name cards in the bath. Everything is clean and neat. Towels are changed every day, bed linens every 4th.
From its lanai you have a wonderful view on Kona and the coast. Don't miss the sunsets.

To look forward to: breakfasts are delicous and copious served on the large lanai. Dolores has an eye not only for table decorations but definitely is a magician in cuisine. Be it porridge, waffles, pancakes or tasty egg dishes and fruits...you will spend more time at the breakfast table than ever and get a new surprise every morning.

This is the time to ask Dolores about the island. She just knows everything and gives you well appreciated hints to experience the Big Island without getting exhausted.
Ideally placed, First Class B&B is only a 5 minute drive from Kona and ideal as a starting point for longer excursions.
For a day at the beach, Dolores provides you with all you need: chairs, boards, towels, cool boxes etc.

Last but not least, enjoy a nice and relaxing evening with some 'pupus' and a drink in Dolores' company on her lanai and 'talk story'.

  • Liked — Cleanness, quiet, space.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Karine_Edi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

We honeymooned in Hawaii and spent 4 days in Kona. I will say that we throughly were satisfied with our stay, This place is beautiful inside and out. Dolores made the best breakfasts and was great company, with lots of knowledge about the island and what to do. She made it so personal, with our Hawaiian name cards and we loved it all.
would we go back... In a heartbeat.
Dolores if you are reading this!!! A big hello from Enzo and Diane!!!

  • Liked — It was surrounded by beauty
  • Disliked — have no dislikes
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaii51031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.8 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.8 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
2.6 km away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.0 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii

Property: 1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii
Address: 77-6504 Kilohana St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9744 (Formerly 1st Class Bed and Breakfast Kona Hawaii)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): $228 - $241
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolores, your hostess of this first class Bed and Breakfast® is located on the slopes of Kailua-Kona Hawaii overlooking the Kailua-Kona coastline and Kailua-Kona Bay. Located 11 miles from Kailua- Kona's airport, 4 miles from the town of Kailua-Kona Hawaii and 2 miles from the best snorkeling beaches in all the Islands of Hawaii. Dolores, a Kailua-Kona resident for 32 years and a B&B hostess for 22 years is delighted to guide and direct her guests during their visit to the Big Island of Hawaii. In addition nearby: Fine Ambiance Dining to Local Ethnic Food, Shopping, Beaches-Beach Activities, SCUBA, Snorkeling, and Sports Fishing World Famous Golf Courses This First Class Bed & Breakfast offers immaculate accommodations for special guests lodging in luxuary. Gourmet breakfasts served on an open lanai overlooking Kailua-Kona Bay.Your hostess also offers fresh bathing towels, trash pick-up & light house cleaning. Private Entrances Air-conditioning Wireless Internet Private Bath Custom Décor Kitchenette Cable Remote Color TV/CD Tape Stereo Beach Towels, Mats, Chairs, Umbrellas, Coolers and Boogie Boards Beautiful Views & More Full Gourmet Breakfast served each morning Light Housekeeping is Offered as a Courtesy Plus Other Little Amenities to Make Your Stay Special & Wonderful Experience. Cottage and Studio are smoke free. 3 night minimum stay - for stays of 2 nights add $10/nightCheck-in: 4pm to 5pm; Check-out: 11amCheck in times are stated above unless otherwise agreed to. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1st Class b&b Kona Hawaii
1st Class Bed And Breakfast Kona Hawaii Hotel Kailua-Kona
1st Class Vacation Rental Kona Hawaii Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing