We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Very old rooms that are in bad condition. Actual hotel is on the ocean but the condo rooms are across a busy highway. Due to highway noise, sitting on the lanai or even having the doors open is impossible. There is no ocean access. Room is very noisy. TV is impossible to watch unless you are on the bed. No table but a small counter space so eating is awkward but possible.

On the plus side there is a full kitchen and the price is reasonable for Kona.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main hotel with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jelahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 259 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

We were only here for a night, then moved on to another hotel. Our unit was clean and taken care of. We had an ocean front view. The staff are particularly unfriendly and rude. Didn't really feel like a welcoming place to stay, so we moved on to a hotel down the road. Our condo itself was nice though. It was mostly the staff that I was concerned with.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very clean, pleasant stay. We had a 2 br apartment that was very comfortable. A bit far from things so must have a car. Fully self catering. Da poke shack downstairs and a store across the road for beer and coffee

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kobblekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Synopsis: Overall we had a great experience. We were able to change condos after one week to a much nicer unit - 7 nights in one and 10 nights in the second. In each case the oceanview experience was exceptional. The condos are a little tired because they are older but if your condo has been cared for it will be well appointed and have all you need (read detail below). The BBQs are heavily used and a great place to meet people and socialize over a beer or wine. We enjoyed the whole experience and would consider returning but would insist on a "refreshed" condo. Our first condo was substandard in several important regards but our second was superb.

Detail:
If you are not an experienced condo user then pay attention, do some research before you jump into condo use. Imagine the location before you go, think about the details; any condo that fronts on a main street will always be noisy, so don`t complain if that is what you booked. We chose a one bedroom oceanside/oceanview condo. We received "an upgrade" to a two bedroom oceanside condo on a so called upgrade. Quite frankly I did not see any one bedroom oceanside/oceanview condos but perhaps there was one somewhere. I believe their strategy is to give everyone who orders a one bedroom oceanside/oceanview an automatic upgrade to a two bedroom because that is all they have or they wanted to fill the two bedroom condos and then you really feel you have had a superior experience.

Understand that Kona Bali Kai is somewhat older, aka 1970's vintage and is a bit tired. All things will not be gleaming new, nor may not function perfectly. If the owner cares about their condo they will have provided new appliances, furniture and accessories, it may be well appointed. If the owner is not that caring then you may be disappointed with the particular unit you stay in. We stayed in units #319 and #320. At the time of writing this review #319 has some issues that need attention, #320 was excellent. We moved from #319 because the carpet was filthy dirty, the bed was a queen and very poor in quality and the lanai furniture was only adequate. #320 has newer clean carpet (although some previous user(s) had damaged it in two small locations, a king bed and very nice lanai furniture. To have a great experience a condo here you must have three things - good flooring (clean carpets or tile), king bed of good quality and good lanai furniture (you will spend your breakfast and dinners and evenings on the lanai for hours). In #319 we move the living room chairs (which were very nice I might add) out on the lanai so we could have a relaxing experience, the metal plastic webbing ones provided were cheap and uncomfortable. The bed was horrible and the carpet needed replacement years ago. We asked about moving to a new condo the second day we arrived and were advised the place was full and would be able to consider it after one week. We were able to make the move as they advised us.

Read the fine print folks, the oceanside units are on the ocean, duh, and you will hear the ocean waves constantly crashing on the rocks, we loved it! It is mesmerizing and relaxing, watching the surfers, sunsets over the water, sea turtles in the tidal pools, humpback whales frolicking offshore. Some folks here have complained about the noise of the waves, if you think you might have some difficulty with that then this place is not for you. Almost all oceanside units have no air conditioning, the balmy ocean breezes were quite fine for cooling in the evening. There are only a few oceanview with AC and we do not know if they are for rent or not. We improvised (no details provided) I would say that Castle Resorts should consider having all units upgraded with air conditioning to remain competitive.

The front desk staff were very helpful and considerate. We picked up our beach towels most days and they were clean and fluffy. The BBQs were cleaned & maintained every day. They are extremely heavily used as most folks love to BBQ their fish, steak, pork for their dinners and eat at the picnic tables provided if available. The on premises Poke {that's po-kee) Shack is a great place to get a lunch if your around. The Poke Shack staff are great but once a week they evening party (which we do not think should be allowed) at the BBQs and it makes for a crowded and noisy BBQ area.

The room cleaning requiem is not that great. You may find that you will need to confirm when your unit will be cleaned.
There are lounge chairs available, and you can comfortably relax right on the premises if you do not want to go anywhere.
The condo complex is 2.5 miles from town and easy access to the night life, shopping and all your needs. Walmart, Safeway are nearby in town and suitable for most needs. The Costco is north of Kona a few miles more, not as easily reached by any condo in the area and very very busy but we did go there for some things.

Room Tip: Book oceanview forget about across the street. Book through Castle Resorts so that you get front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our 2 bedroom was beautiful and well equipped. The lanai ocean view is spectacular. While having dinner one night we were treated to a spectacular whale show just off shore. See turtles and other sea life right outside the building.

Room Tip: Make sure to get ocean view as it is what makes the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucksue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.3 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,231 reviews
3.8 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#34 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
319 reviews
4.8 km away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
829 reviews
2.7 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $160 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing