We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit! Will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Kona by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Our family of four stated here and really loved the location, not far from Kona, right on the ocean with incredible views, and very comfortable accommodations. The staff is WONDERFUL, friendly, and helpful. The one downside is that the bathrooms feel a bit on the worn side and could be upgraded. Would have preferred tile floor throughout the unit instead of carpet. But loved the a.c.! Was great to be able to spread out, have breakfast in our room, and have a home away from home.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Aloha Corinne! Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to learn that you and your family enjoyed vacationing with us and that our wonderful staff took great care of you. We also appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the areas of our services that have room for improvement, and will share your feedback with our management for thoughtful consideration! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for a family getaway again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with our preteen son. It was a perfect condo for a family with one child (could accommodate one more child). One bedroom with king bed and master bath, and another room with 2 twin beds and another bath. Note that master bedroom connects to living room with sliding doors

Best part is the lanai overlooking the beach. Great to hear the waves and you see the sun set on the water. Gorgeous view!

Note that the beach isn't sandy but rather black rocks, but the property has a small pool and jacuzzi if you enjoy swimming.

The kitchen is Ok, but there didn't appear to be many implements for cooking so,if you were to p,an on cooking dinner, ask ahead to see if the proper utensils are there.

Linens and towels (including beach towels) are included, and one serving of coffee (enough to make a pot), dish soap, dishwasher soap and laundry detergent were included, which was nice.

Didn't appreciate the $12 mandatory resort fee. Includes wifi and free DVD and Xbox game rental. Our preteen couldn't find any games he liked or that were appropriate for him of the only dozen available to the condo complex. Wifi should be free.

The condo complex is well situated close to downtown.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kili_Aztec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Mahalo for your review, Ili_Aztec! We are so glad your condo was a comfortable vacation home, and that you loved your ideal and beautiful ocean location and views. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us to know the ways in which we excel at making our guests comfortable as well as the areas of our service that have room for improvement. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you to our corner of paradise again in the future! Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Last summer we stayed at Aston Mahana in Maui, so when looking for a condo to stay in a few nights in Kona after visiting the Hilo side, I checked into available Aston property condos. I e-mailed the property directly and received a same day response about cost for travel dates we were considering and promotions available. I'm glad we chose an upgrade to oceanfront, as we had a spacious lanai and enjoyed the morning view (I attached pictures). Our condo was on the 4th floor. While the condo had noticeable upgrades, it was not as modern as the condo we stayed in at Aston Mahana. However, we were pleasantly surprised how spacious the condo was. The bedroom is separate from the living area, the two full bathrooms are large, a large entrance hallway and spacious layout provide enough room that a second couple could sleep in the living room. Wal-Mart is close by and where we bought breakfast food and snacks. We went both nights to Ali'i Drive for dinner and had no problems parking in the same parking space or close to same spot when we returned. We appreciated how efficient the check-in and check-out staff were. We were checked in and out in less than five minutes. Our only concern was having to go through the parking garage to get the elevator to go up to the 4th floor. While a key is needed to push the elevator button, I wasn't comfortable, esp. at night, going to/from the car or loading/unloading the luggage from the car without my boyfriend present. Walking the hallways outside the condo and the parking areas are separate from where the lobby and pool (traffic) areas are. Due to being an oceanfront property in a convenient location, I will recommend Kona by the Sea to those visiting Kona area.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Mjzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Aloha Mjzeta! Thank you so much for your review. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that your second Aston Life vacation experience was wonderful, and that we could provide you with a comfortable and spacious home away from home. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we can't wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This was clearly the best of the five hotels we stayed at in the islands. The location is beautiful just a short drive south of the center of Kailua-Kona, right on the beach where snorkeling or surfing is possible, albeit a little rough and rocky. Plenty of free parking. But it was the room that was beyond all expectations. The corridors are open, so there's a nice approach to the room, and the room was huge! There was a separate bedroom with its own bathroom, and another full bathroom near the entrance. There was a fully equipped kitchen, and then an amazing lounge that ended in a balcony overlooking the ocean and the pool. We were able to use the gameboy and select free dvd's from the lobby to watch in the room. There was absolutely nothing to complain about with regard to the accommodations, except the drainage in the bath may have been a little slow. The pool was big enough to actually dive and swim in, and there was a small jacuzzi, making it a nice place to relax. It closed at 10:00. Wished it could have stayed open a little later. A bit further south on the left hand side was a market-place offering a variety of food choices, gifts, and other products. If you need to use the restroom immediately upon arrival, be prepared for a significant hike to the back of the garage. There's no room service, and the recommended restaurant to deliver to your room doesn't take orders after 8:00 pm.

Room Tip: Definitely get at least a one-bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yonsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Mahalo for your review, Yonsider! We are so glad to hear that your vacation experience was wonderful from beginning to end, and that our accommodations, amenities, location, and pool all helped to enhance your vacation stay. Your feedback and time is valuable to us, and we can't wait to welcome you again in the future! Aloha and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed in unit 322 for a week in July 2017. It was an "ocean front" unit with 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. The master bedroom faced the ocean so we could hear the waves falling asleep/waking up every day; so calming and relaxing. The lanai, which also faces the ocean, had a dining table and a lounge chair so we coffee/drinks plus books in the lanai, with the palm tree and ocean view, was paradise itself. We also enjoyed an awesome sunset on the property - we couldn't see it from our unit but some units of this complex seem to have better views.

The unit was nice and spacious; the kitchen had everything we needed (and we ate in a lot) and the pool+jacuzzi, which is also in front of the ocean, was great too. The property is located really close to downtown Kailua-Kona and supermarkets/stores (all within 5-10 drive) so it was very convenient for excursions and shopping. The Magic Sand beach was just down the road so we also enjoyed lots of beach time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dragonpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Aloha Dragonpower, and thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that your week-long stay was a wonderful and relaxing experience, and that you enjoyed your beautiful views, ideal location, convenient amenities, and personal kitchen. We would love to welcome you back to our corner of paradise again in the future! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
3.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
5.3 km away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,599 reviews
5.8 km away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75-6106 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2312 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $281 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, oceanfront resort with breathtaking views and spacious suites. This condominium resort fronts a magnificent rocky shoreline with its own sandy lounging area, outdoor barbecue facilities and more. Located just south of historic Kailua-Kona with its charming shops, dining and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing