We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveller rating
328
226
55
35
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
226
55
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontfull kitchensandy areadaily maid servicethe big islandliving roomwasher and dryerbedroom oceanfrontsalt water poolcovered parkingcleaned dailyunderground parkingoffice staffsand beachwaves crashinggreat ocean viewssea wall
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 662 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with our preteen son. It was a perfect condo for a family with one child (could accommodate one more child). One bedroom with king bed and master bath, and another room with 2 twin beds and another bath. Note that master bedroom connects to living room with sliding doors

Best part is the lanai overlooking the beach. Great to hear the waves and you see the sun set on the water. Gorgeous view!

Note that the beach isn't sandy but rather black rocks, but the property has a small pool and jacuzzi if you enjoy swimming.

The kitchen is Ok, but there didn't appear to be many implements for cooking so,if you were to p,an on cooking dinner, ask ahead to see if the proper utensils are there.

Linens and towels (including beach towels) are included, and one serving of coffee (enough to make a pot), dish soap, dishwasher soap and laundry detergent were included, which was nice.

Didn't appreciate the $12 mandatory resort fee. Includes wifi and free DVD and Xbox game rental. Our preteen couldn't find any games he liked or that were appropriate for him of the only dozen available to the condo complex. Wifi should be free.

The condo complex is well situated close to downtown.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kili_Aztec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Mahalo for your review, Ili_Aztec! We are so glad your condo was a comfortable vacation home, and that you loved your ideal and beautiful ocean location and views. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us to know the ways in which we excel at making our guests comfortable as well as the areas of our service that have room for improvement. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you to our corner of paradise again in the future! Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Last summer we stayed at Aston Mahana in Maui, so when looking for a condo to stay in a few nights in Kona after visiting the Hilo side, I checked into available Aston property condos. I e-mailed the property directly and received a same day response about cost for travel dates we were considering and promotions available. I'm glad we chose an upgrade to oceanfront, as we had a spacious lanai and enjoyed the morning view (I attached pictures). Our condo was on the 4th floor. While the condo had noticeable upgrades, it was not as modern as the condo we stayed in at Aston Mahana. However, we were pleasantly surprised how spacious the condo was. The bedroom is separate from the living area, the two full bathrooms are large, a large entrance hallway and spacious layout provide enough room that a second couple could sleep in the living room. Wal-Mart is close by and where we bought breakfast food and snacks. We went both nights to Ali'i Drive for dinner and had no problems parking in the same parking space or close to same spot when we returned. We appreciated how efficient the check-in and check-out staff were. We were checked in and out in less than five minutes. Our only concern was having to go through the parking garage to get the elevator to go up to the 4th floor. While a key is needed to push the elevator button, I wasn't comfortable, esp. at night, going to/from the car or loading/unloading the luggage from the car without my boyfriend present. Walking the hallways outside the condo and the parking areas are separate from where the lobby and pool (traffic) areas are. Due to being an oceanfront property in a convenient location, I will recommend Kona by the Sea to those visiting Kona area.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Mjzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Aloha Mjzeta! Thank you so much for your review. We are absolutely thrilled to learn that your second Aston Life vacation experience was wonderful, and that we could provide you with a comfortable and spacious home away from home. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we can't wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This was clearly the best of the five hotels we stayed at in the islands. The location is beautiful just a short drive south of the center of Kailua-Kona, right on the beach where snorkeling or surfing is possible, albeit a little rough and rocky. Plenty of free parking. But it was the room that was beyond all expectations. The corridors are open, so there's a nice approach to the room, and the room was huge! There was a separate bedroom with its own bathroom, and another full bathroom near the entrance. There was a fully equipped kitchen, and then an amazing lounge that ended in a balcony overlooking the ocean and the pool. We were able to use the gameboy and select free dvd's from the lobby to watch in the room. There was absolutely nothing to complain about with regard to the accommodations, except the drainage in the bath may have been a little slow. The pool was big enough to actually dive and swim in, and there was a small jacuzzi, making it a nice place to relax. It closed at 10:00. Wished it could have stayed open a little later. A bit further south on the left hand side was a market-place offering a variety of food choices, gifts, and other products. If you need to use the restroom immediately upon arrival, be prepared for a significant hike to the back of the garage. There's no room service, and the recommended restaurant to deliver to your room doesn't take orders after 8:00 pm.

Room Tip: Definitely get at least a one-bedroom suite.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yonsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Mahalo for your review, Yonsider! We are so glad to hear that your vacation experience was wonderful from beginning to end, and that our accommodations, amenities, location, and pool all helped to enhance your vacation stay. Your feedback and time is valuable to us, and we can't wait to welcome you again in the future! Aloha and a hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed in unit 322 for a week in July 2017. It was an "ocean front" unit with 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. The master bedroom faced the ocean so we could hear the waves falling asleep/waking up every day; so calming and relaxing. The lanai, which also faces the ocean, had a dining table and a lounge chair so we coffee/drinks plus books in the lanai, with the palm tree and ocean view, was paradise itself. We also enjoyed an awesome sunset on the property - we couldn't see it from our unit but some units of this complex seem to have better views.

The unit was nice and spacious; the kitchen had everything we needed (and we ate in a lot) and the pool+jacuzzi, which is also in front of the ocean, was great too. The property is located really close to downtown Kailua-Kona and supermarkets/stores (all within 5-10 drive) so it was very convenient for excursions and shopping. The Magic Sand beach was just down the road so we also enjoyed lots of beach time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dragonpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Aloha Dragonpower, and thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that your week-long stay was a wonderful and relaxing experience, and that you enjoyed your beautiful views, ideal location, convenient amenities, and personal kitchen. We would love to welcome you back to our corner of paradise again in the future! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

My family and i stayed here in mid July. The rooms were very clean, well stocked with towels and shower items, and the patio area had nice table and chairs. Kitchen was well stocked and dinner area was relaxing along with the family room area. We were on the 3rd floor and the view of the ocean, beach and swimming pool was perfect.
After 20 years of coming to Kona, we didcidid this year to chance places and we are very happy we did. We are now looking to book for next summer already. A added plus is their pet duck that wonders around and if fun to watch.

Room Tip: Room 312 Has really nice appliances and furniture along with beach and pool items to use.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SGBDTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Aloha and thank you for your review, SGBDTK! We are so glad to learn you enjoyed your accommodations and that all of your in-room amenities enhanced the quality of your stay. It is also great to hear that you loved your view, location, and our pool and beach areas. It would be an honor to welcome you again! Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews