We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,358)
Filter reviews
3,358 results
Traveller rating
734
1,335
753
325
211
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
1,335
753
325
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon alii tower mai tai bar don the beachcomber corner king ocean front main tower the big island salt water lagoon an ocean view room shops and restaurants on the rocks an older hotel open air waves crashing parking fee our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 3,358 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing was too much if requested. Room spacious, quiet, ocean views if requested, breakfast has the widest selection of foods I've ever seen, views and location superb. Five minute walk to most of the restaurants and shopping.
Could do with TV update and Netflix availability.

Room Tip: Best and quietest rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your time with us. We are so very happy that you had such a great time at our resort. We have a prime ocean front location to shops and dining. We appreciate your suggestions and will keep them in mind as we work to improve our resort. Please come and see us again soon.

Mahalo,
Brittany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were a little old but large and clean. Lovely lady who patiently booked trips for us which we then had to cancel as we had to leave early due to the arrival of the hurricane. Lovely view from the balcony.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank 52aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are sorry to see your vacation was cut short due to the hurricane. We are delighted to see that even though you only stayed with us for a short time with us that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to welcome you again for another longer stay.

Warmest Aloha

Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been going to Kona for years. We chose the Royal Kona at first because it had good views, Luau and had the Rotary club meetings on site(They don't anymore).
We still like for the same reasons. We don't use the resort restaurant very often. The bar drinks are very good. Home of the Mai Tai. We go into town just down the street to eat all the time. Parking is not free and can become crowded. They have a swap meet on week ends in town and we stock up on Kona coffee.They have a July 4 parade with all the locals which is fun. Very nice little town and laid back. Just what we want in Hawwaii.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank w8aminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to our resort. We love that you enjoy our views and our great location. We have to agree with you that we have some awesome views and delicious Mai Tai's. We would love to welcome you for another vacation stay again in the future.



Mahalo and warmest aloha,

Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay was wonderful, and would stay there again.Clean rooms, great views and super Mai Tai's. The grounds were beautiful and everyone was friendly showing the true sprit of Aloha!
Dont forget to stop in the gift shop, for great coffee and to talk stories. Oh and of course there was a great selection of unique quality items, with something for everyone.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Experience66051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort and for the five star review! We love that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you felt the true spirit of aloha while visiting us. We are delighted to see you enjoyed our gift shop and our wonderful coffee as well as all that the shop has to offer. We would love to welcome you for another vacation stay again in the future.


Mahalo and warmest aloha,

Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Royal Kona has a great location if you like the crowded little historic, shopping and entertainment district of Kailua-Kona. I commend Snorkel Bob's, a small, competent specialty business. The downsides are that the hotel's parking will be crowded at some times (not good if you don't have a spotter) and of course the local streets can be stuffed with cars.

The buildings are older, and that shows a bit in the facilities and rooms, which have been kept up to date. The design was by a prominent Hawaii architect, so there are some features, like poured-concrete Greek columns and the main building's distinctive shape, that you wouldn't quite expect. The grounds, pools, and facilities are well maintained, though I was a poor resort person; I tend to use hotels as roosts for the night, not as destinations.

I had the cheapest possible room, in one of the side buildings next to the elevator (which could not be heard from the room), facing inland toward the parking area, which was under construction at the time, almost completed. The construction did result in a parking space shortage and I did have to park on the street one night. The front desk pleasantly refunded the parking fee for the night.

The room's most interesting feature was the sliding wood louvers that turned the window wall (with balcony) into a dark wood wall, just a bit Japanese. Countertops, the bar sink and bathroom were all in fine condition.

My visit was shortly after Kilauea had quieted and air quality improved. Everyone was happy.

Room Tip: If you will hang around the hotel, a room facing the ocean would be worth the price
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to read there was some difficulty with parking however we are glad to see it all worked out. We hope to welcome you again for another fabulous stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!



Warmest aloha,
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews