We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfortable beds!”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed 18 January 2018

I love the Kona Seaside! It is an older structure but the staff work hard at upkeep. The beds are sooo comfortable. I always sleep great here! The hotel is right in Kailua town and so it is an easy walk to to the pier, beach, restaurants and shops. Just up the hill is a grocery store. The pool is relaxing. I love the lanais for sipping my morning kona coffee. All the staff I interacted with were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Upper floors on south side have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mahalo for your positive feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

We stayed in this hotel for one night because we flew in late and needed a place to stay before taking off to Hilo the next day. We found it a little pricey for what we got. The staff was friendly and helpful. The decor is dated, but the room was clean. The air conditioner made quite a bit of noise, but it helped to block out the traffic noise. There was also a ceiling fan, so it cooled off nicely. There are not a lot of parking spaces if you arrive late, but there are spots on the street nearby. It is close to nearby restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lisel445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I stayed here during the Ironman championships and it was a perfect location to view the run portion of the race and throughout the week access the ocean, Umeke's poke and Kona Brew Co. The staff was friendly and accommodations were just what i needed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

The hotel was in a great location, very close to the water, near very good restaurants, and within walking distance of Walmart and a strip mall. We booked 4 rooms and 2 overlooked the sea and the other 2, the pool.
All rooms were a good size, very comfortable beds, clean, and a good hot shower. It was lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the world go by. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and our daughter wasn’t well and they gave us 1 room early so we could leave our luggage there and the daughter could sleep. Didn’t notice any outside noise overnight.
When I booked the rooms in April 2017, because we were spending Xmas in Kona, they gave me details of the restaurant next door (Splashers Bar & Grill) that would be providing a Xmas menu. I had that all booked well in advance.
Overall, a great stay, good value and a friendly establishment.

Room Tip: Best views at the back of the hotel. All rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RussCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We appreciate your positive feedback! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Coming to a 4 star, you would expect to be able to relax. There's a pool pump that will ensure this doesn't happen. I had the printed copy of our booking but that still didn't stop the hotel from saying I had only one night.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank unixAdmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We're sorry to hear that your recent was less than stellar. Please contact the property hotel General Manager if there is anything else we can address to improve on amenity and customer service. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.5 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,031 reviews
9.8 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $192 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing