We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, So-So hotel”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We arrived in Kona too late to drive to our resort, so we stayed at Kona Seaside resort for the night. The staff was very nice and efficient. The hotel is located in the heart of Kona by the ocean, great location to get to everything. The hotel itself is old. It gave us what we needed, which was basically a clean room to sleep in and a place to shower in the morning. If I were staying here for the week, I would have been very disappointed at the age and condition of the place. There was an outdoor pool but it closed pretty early. The rooms were badly in need of updates. It wasn't cheap. But for what we needed, it was fine. The BEST part by far was that it was next to a restaurant called Splashers that had great breakfast options and bloody Marys. There was also a coffee shop right underneath Splashers that made wonderful cappuccino while you wanted for your table.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Public Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

Aloha Laura K,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel! Our staff strives to provide exceptional service with true Aloha Spirit to each guest. We hope to provide you with future accommodations the next time you are on the Big Island!

Mahalo,
Seaside Hotels Hawaii Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 437 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2015

We were only staying in Kona for 1 night and weren't going to be in our room for any length of time, it was a bit out dated but very clean, rooms were really large, beds comfortable, owned by an Hawaii family . It's in a great location , parking at no extra charge , walking distance to shops, restaurants and the ocean boulevard. There is a huge amount of accommodation available in Kona, so if this is not what you are after this is more to choose from. But I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We took an overnight trip and booked this hotel for one night. The room was quite outdated and I asked for an ocean view. I got one but it was a view of the bay. Slick little devils got me because if I looked out a certain way I could see the ocean with a better view. Hey I didn't go to Kona to stay in my room anyway. We drove up to the Volcano the day we got there and then did the luau that evening. The staff was friendly and the Luau was ok (Been to a couple on Oahu that were much more impressive but all in all a good time was had.

Room Tip: We wanted to be able to see the whales at this time of year. If that's what you want you need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Public Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

Aloha John S,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel! Our staff strives to provide exceptional service with true Aloha Spirit to each guest. We hope to provide you with future accommodations the next time you are on the Big Island!

Mahalo,
Seaside Hotels Hawaii Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Hotel is older, but clean. The room did not smell musty like most older hotels do. Location was excellent, easy walking distance to Kona shops & restaurants. Breakfast options at Splashers were delish...must have the macadamia nut banana pancakes.
Desk & security personnel were helpful & knowledgable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

When we selected the Kona Seaside hotel for our one night in Kona (on the way across the Island to Volcano and the East Side) we had modest expectations for a clean room and not much more. What we found, however, was a well-located hotel with a remodeled room and great ocean view, not to mention uniformly pleasant and helpful staff. We didn't try the pool, but others were in it and appeared to be having fun. We would have no qualms in recommending the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.5 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,030 reviews
9.8 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: AU$192 - AU$283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing