We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours are FANTASTIC. Thanks to Helen and Ben!”

Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Island of Hawai’i is called the “Big Island”. You’ll find 11 out of 13 of the world’s climatic zones here. The immense diversity is exemplified by showcasing the world’s most active volcano, Kilauea, and Mauna Kea, the tallest mountain in the world if measured from its origin on the ocean floor. Our helicopter tours of the Big Island are sure to make memories that you’ll cherish for a lifetime.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our family of three took an island tour in a R44. It was a wonderful experience. Because the environment was private and intimate, with only us and the pilot. Our pilot Ben was fantastic. He provided a rich history and nature lesson, over the volcanoes, the coast, and the waterfalls, while keeping us all feeling safe and secure.

Helen provides wonderful Hawaiian hospitality, she helped me reserve the flight before we arrived. - Definitely do that as soon as you can.- She welcomed our family and gave us a great introduction to what to expect and how to make the most out of our experience. King Zoo Alumni!

Helen made a huge impact on our trip to Hawaii. She is so incredibly helpful.

Ben is a fantastic pilot! He has extensive experience in helicopters. He flew incredibly safely. Being a pilot myself, that is very important to me too.

Special thanks to Helen and Ben for making our trip to Hawaii unforgettable.

~ Carl

1  Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Front Office Assistant / Greeter at Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Aloha Carl,

We are so happy to hear that all of you had an amazing experience at Mauna Loa Helicopters. It was an absolute pleasure working with you prior to arriving on the island and then to finally meet you and your beautiful family. It was great to meet a fellow King Zoo Alumni, what a small world we live in. It warms my heart to know I was able to help make your trip to the Big Island amazing and the best it could be. Ben loved flying with you and appreciates your kind words.

Hope we get to see you again in the future!

Mahalo for the review!

Mauna Loa Helicopters Tour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"island tour"
in 9 reviews
"great pilot"
in 4 reviews
"active volcano"
in 5 reviews
"lava flowing"
in 4 reviews
"private tour"
in 5 reviews
"big island"
in 10 reviews
"pretty windy"
in 2 reviews
"foot waterfalls"
in 2 reviews
"absolute highlight"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful coastline"
in 2 reviews
"jaw dropping"
in 2 reviews
"bucket list"
in 4 reviews
"window seat"
in 2 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 2 reviews
"national park"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 2 reviews
"an incredible experience"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was a private helicopter tour for my family of three. The purpose: to see flowing lava! This was my husbands only wish and reason we came to the big island.... No pressure (wink wink). Of course, there is no guarantee flowing lava would be visible, however, this was made clear prior to lift off, with the option to fly another day if we so chose. We very much appreciated the up front and honest information. Upon arrival we were greeted by Helen ( her hawaiin name is its own great story). She was so inviting, she made us feel like fast friends. She went out of her way to make our time on the island the best it could be completely aside from this tour. Ben was our pilot, who was exceptional, friendly and knowledgeable. He made us feel at ease and ready to go on our bucket list excursion with or without lava flow. The flight did not disappoint: we saw the island and all its beauty, lava included. I couldn't have asked for a better flight, or crew. These people got it right. I give them 5 stars because they deserve it from beginning to end! Thank you

Thank tfsm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Front Office Assistant / Greeter at Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Aloha!

It was my absolute pleasure to have your Ohana (family) join us for a breathtaking Full Island tour! We were so thrilled that Tutu Pele was able to give you a show and your husband's bucket list item could be checked off. Having guests come to this beautiful island I've had the pleasure of growing up on, I take it personal to share the Aloha Spirit to all visitors. Many guests dream their entire lives of visiting Hawaii, so I want to be sure it's the best experience possible I can give them.

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we sincerely appreciate it your kind words.

Mahalo for your review!

Mauna Loa Helicopters Tour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Taking a private helicopter tour is not the cheapest excursion you can do in Hawaii, but if there are only 3 of you , the cost per person is not bad. The experience is priceless. Go where you want to go, see what you want to see. We took a 2 our tour and covered almost the entire big island including a lingering stay above active lava flows. We saved ourselves a trip way out to green beach that would have taken an entire day of our vacation away in travel. How about flying into a dead end canyon and hovering with 3 1000 foot waterfalls surrounding you! WOW. They also have an option to fly with doors off. I which my wife would have allowed this. Although we would have gotten wet from a brief rain we flew through, our pictures would have been much better. Remember the plexiglass windows on any helicopter have horrible glares that are very hard to avoid.

Thank JrVandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Front Office Assistant / Greeter at Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Aloha!

It was an absolute pleasure having all of you join us for a tour! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review, we really appreciate it!

Private Helicopter tours are the best and can only be found at Mauna Loa Helicopters. What an amazing flight you had...seeing the one-of-a-kind green sand beach, active lava and the breathtaking waterfalls of the Kohala Mountains! What amazing memories to cherish.

Mahalo for your review!
Mauna Loa Helicopters Tour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We booked the doors off waterfall tour and do not regret it. Doors off is a must. Made for great views and pictures. The staff was great with answering questions before booking. When we arrived, Helen greeted us and explained the flight and everything to expect. Ben was our pilot and he did an amazing job sharing facts and history about the island. He was also very accommodating throughout the flight, making sure we both were able to get great views... he even helped us spot some whales! I had concerns about motion sickness but Helen and Ben were great about making sure this did not occur. Luckily it did not. Glad we spent the extra money to have a private flight with Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours as opposed to booking with other companies in the area that did not have that option. We did this tour at the end of our trip to the Big Island and afterwards wished we would have done it earlier as they gave great tips and recommendations for places to check out. Best experience of our trip. Worth every penny.

Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Front Office Assistant / Greeter at Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to give us an amazing review!

It was such a joy to meet you and share this amazing island and her breathtaking sights with you. Private Helicopter tours are the best way to fly and can only be found at Mauna Loa Helicopters. I'm happy to hear the recommendations came in handy, sorry you didn't have enough time to check them all out.

Mahalo for your review!

Mauna Loa Helicopters Tour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We took the longer helicopter tour, 2-2-1/2 hours. We were not rushed and it ran about 2 hours, 20minutes. Our pilot was easy going and maneuvered wherever we needed to go for the view. He was very knowledgeable about the island.
The Rangers did not allow a Park flyover access for the day we took the tour but we flew very close and saw huge areas of steam and several rivulets of lava flowing down the mountain slopes. Highly recommended.

Thank dlrdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Front Office Assistant / Greeter at Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Aloha!

Thank you for your kind words about your Full Island tour on the beautiful Big Island. We are so happy you enjoyed your flight and got to see some Lava. What a memorable trip to cherish always.

Mahalo for your review!

The Mauna Loa Helicopters Tour Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing