We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday brunch”
Review of Huggo's Restaurant

Huggo's Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 305 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This restaurant was worth the long drive to Kailua/Kona. I had an eggs benedict dish that was made with lobster cakes and was in love. The eggs were perfectly poached and the lobster cakes perfectly fried. I would have enjoyed a bit more wasabi in the Hollandaise but that was a minor issue. The breakfast potatoes were a great accompaniment. I wish I had more time to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Aloha, and thank you for visiting us! Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and you had a great time! Please come back and see us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

A little pricey, but most things in Kona are. A delicious breakfast, great service and a fantastic view of Kona Bay!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WhitehorseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Aloha, and thank you for visiting us! Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit . Please come back and see us again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Sunset View with dinner can't be beat. Beautiful location. Delicious food, very attentive and friendly waitstaff. It is a bit pricey and there are not many vegetarian items on the menu, but the quality of the food is on par with the price. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, one of the highlights of our time in Kona.

Thank kloeboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018


Aloha, and thank you for visiting us! We appreciate the feedback. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We enjoyed a beautiful breakfast while visiting Kona at Huggo's. The tables sit right over the water and lava rock creating a very peaceful setting. I had the eggs Benedict and my boyfriend had an equally tasty omelette. We both ordered the endless mimosas with endless flavours to choose from.The breakfast is slightly more expansive than your average breakfast place in Kona but the food, view, and service are more than worth it. Definitely perfect for a romantic breakfast or any day you want to start perfect.

Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018


Aloha, and thank you for visiting us! We appreciate the feedback. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Frequent visitors to the islands led us to this restaurant as one of their favorites. We were not disappointed and it has become a staple for us. Breakfast and Dinner were both outstanding, service was superb and the view is outstanding. Evenings with music in the bar area were an added bonus. Must make reservations to experience this fantastic restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gdandcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanel S, Guest Relations Manager at Huggo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018


Aloha, and thank you for visiting us! We appreciate the feedback. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huggo's Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Huggo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing