We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel from which to visit Joshua Tree National Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel from which to visit Joshua Tree National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

we stayed here only for 1 night, as it was early in our holiday, but wished we could have stayed longer.

It was located in a quiet spot set well back from the main road in 29 Palms. A feeling of calm and relaxation came over us immediately on arrival and we were not disappointed with the room or facilities.

There is a lovely pool to relax beside and an excellent bar and restaurant serving wonderful food. We sat outside to have dinner and were entertained by a man playing calming pan-pipe Indian music, which created a wonderful atmosphere in the desert setting.

The grounds around the hotel are very pleasant, with an oasis and lake,etc

The breakfast was fairly basic - just oatmeal, bread, jam, coffee and orange juice, but sitting outdoors in the early morning sun was delightful.

This is definitely the best place to stay near Joshua Tree National Park - Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have lovely surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    81
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
85
138
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I had stayed at 29 palms back in '98 and '99 and loved it but was unsure if it would live up to my romanticized memories that had from over 10 years ago - but it did! We stayed in the Forget Me Not bungalow which felt like a homey cabin. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. I had mentioned at check in that we were on our honeymoon and within 5 minutes of our arrival, a bottle of champagne was waiting at our door! It's true that the rooms are a little worn but for me, that added to the charm of staying in the middle of the desert. The dozens of bunnies outside of our bungalow also added to the charm!
We ate all of our meals at the lovely poolside restaurant. Our meal the first night was phenomenal - one of the best I've had in awhile and the staff was jovial and warm. I love that they grow their vegetables in a garden that's right behind the restaurant (and fun to tour!) and that all of the bread is homemade. Local musicians had been hired to entertain the outside guests so though our meal the second night was not nearly as good, the atmosphere made up for it. I also loved that locals from neighboring towns were eating at the restaurant as well.
We spent our days hiking in the NP, laying by the pool and the front desk 'concierge' even called in a masseuse to give us in-room massages. Overall, 29 Palms was an amazing first stop on our honeymoon. In my opinion, independently owned inns beat out chain hotels every time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bergen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatfield, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here and then visited Joshua Tree National Park the next day. It's a different experience than your typical hotel and I would highly recommend it. The room and property are extremely clean and well cared for. It's also very conveniently located just outside the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Ah, what to say about this property which we have been visiting for over 15 years and which has not been properly updated over that period but the prices have almost tripled.
There is nothing "historically significant" about corroded wall outlets and windows which don't operate properly.
And, of course, one expects prices to go up over time, IF THE PROPERTY CAN MAINTAIN A LEVEL OF COMFORT.
It's all starting to feel very cynical as though the owner might like to cash out soon and simply doesn't care.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puertofanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Owner at 29 Palms Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your continued business as well as your comments.
We have recently completed another summer season of extensive remodeling and maintenance of our cabins. We strive to maintain the historical nature of the property while also providing the level of comfort our guests expect. However, we will be the first to say there is always something that still needs to be fixed.
We hope to see you again, and look forward to making your experience as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

There are not many decent places to eat in Twentynine Palms, this is one of three or four. However, the atmosphere, food, and prices make it worth your while if you are in the area. There is usually a band playing in the background, and you can sit around the pool or under the pavilion. Service was a little slow, so don't go if you are in a hurry. The food was good, and the prices are reasonable. The location is a little off the beaten path, so use a GPS to get there.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alltrvlallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.7 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Twentynine Palms
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#4 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.6 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#8 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Property: 29 Palms Inn
Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price range (per night): $94 - $376
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing