We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food...decent price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food...decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

There are not many decent places to eat in Twentynine Palms, this is one of three or four. However, the atmosphere, food, and prices make it worth your while if you are in the area. There is usually a band playing in the background, and you can sit around the pool or under the pavilion. Service was a little slow, so don't go if you are in a hurry. The food was good, and the prices are reasonable. The location is a little off the beaten path, so use a GPS to get there.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alltrvlallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    81
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
80
131
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Great experience. The food at the restaurant was really wonderful, the staff was nice, the room was spotless. We stayed in Tidy Tips. Loved the tile floor and the courtyard. If you love the chain hotels, this place is NOT for you. Too much personality to describe. Went to the movies at Smith's Ranch Drive-In and headed to Joshua Tree. Took a dip in the pool Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hipimama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

It is not part of a hotel chain and the standard for rooms and services may not be evaluated with the same criteria.
But why not appreciating being in the nature, instead on a highway. Or just the quality of the restaurant that was full of people in a mid-wekk day ?
The price was reasonable for the services offered and the personnel was really kind and helpful.
I would return here.

Room Tip: Comments are referred to the penthouse suite, just above the reception and the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UDesideri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a National Park Tour. My husband chose it because he thought it looked charming. I prefer chain hotels which have baseline standards. Given that, I still felt this was a substandard property.

One of my pet peeves is hotels that have a check in time of 3pm and then tell you the room is not ready. It would have been nice if the desk person had then said please have a drink at the restaurant on us, but instead her attitude was too bad and the room was not ready until 3:40.

My heart sank when I saw the cabin. Be aware that the property is quite spread out with cabins connected by dusty, dirt roads. Although we had a porch facing the oasis, it was not terribly inviting and during our stay strangers came and used our porch for taking photographs. It was quite intrusive.

The rooms themselves are in sad shape and the bathroom had a sink that looked as "historical" as the property. The door locks barely worked and did not lend to a feeling of safety.

The included breakfast was very spare, served outside in a tent under the hot sun, and as we arrived when it was winding down, the attached restaurant was getting ready for their Sunday brunch and rushed us through.

In the end, a chain hotel would have been a better value and more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We spent one night here to catch a show at the famed Pappy & Harriet's (awesome!) a way up the road from 29 Palms. We appreciate authentic "old desert quirkiness," so we went with modest expectations (which turned out to be a good idea!) We stayed in Forget-Me-Not, which we shall promptly forget. Good bones, but in dire need of refreshing. Huge outdoor patio with two chaises with covers so dirty and unappealing we could not bring ourselves to sit there. Way funky bathroom, bare basics. However, the new A/C unit was quiet and kept the room cool enough, and the bed was comfortable., so it met our needs for the night. Nice enough staff and decent morning coffee. If you are vacationing, understand the place needs an infusion of cash and TLC. Sad because it has history and potential to charm, but don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertInnKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.7 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Twentynine Palms
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#4 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.6 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#8 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Property: 29 Palms Inn
Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price range (per night): $94 - $377
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing