We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...decent price”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

There are not many decent places to eat in Twentynine Palms, this is one of three or four. However, the atmosphere, food, and prices make it worth your while if you are in the area. There is usually a band playing in the background, and you can sit around the pool or under the pavilion. Service was a little slow, so don't go if you are in a hurry. The food was good, and the prices are reasonable. The location is a little off the beaten path, so use a GPS to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alltrvlallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

Great experience. The food at the restaurant was really wonderful, the staff was nice, the room was spotless. We stayed in Tidy Tips. Loved the tile floor and the courtyard. If you love the chain hotels, this place is NOT for you. Too much personality to describe. Went to the movies at Smith's Ranch Drive-In and headed to Joshua Tree. Took a dip in the pool Perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hipimama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

It is not part of a hotel chain and the standard for rooms and services may not be evaluated with the same criteria.
But why not appreciating being in the nature, instead on a highway. Or just the quality of the restaurant that was full of people in a mid-wekk day ?
The price was reasonable for the services offered and the personnel was really kind and helpful.
I would return here.

Room Tip: Comments are referred to the penthouse suite, just above the reception and the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UDesideri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a National Park Tour. My husband chose it because he thought it looked charming. I prefer chain hotels which have baseline standards. Given that, I still felt this was a substandard property.

One of my pet peeves is hotels that have a check in time of 3pm and then tell you the room is not ready. It would have been nice if the desk person had then said please have a drink at the restaurant on us, but instead her attitude was too bad and the room was not ready until 3:40.

My heart sank when I saw the cabin. Be aware that the property is quite spread out with cabins connected by dusty, dirt roads. Although we had a porch facing the oasis, it was not terribly inviting and during our stay strangers came and used our porch for taking photographs. It was quite intrusive.

The rooms themselves are in sad shape and the bathroom had a sink that looked as "historical" as the property. The door locks barely worked and did not lend to a feeling of safety.

The included breakfast was very spare, served outside in a tent under the hot sun, and as we arrived when it was winding down, the attached restaurant was getting ready for their Sunday brunch and rushed us through.

In the end, a chain hotel would have been a better value and more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We spent one night here to catch a show at the famed Pappy & Harriet's (awesome!) a way up the road from 29 Palms. We appreciate authentic "old desert quirkiness," so we went with modest expectations (which turned out to be a good idea!) We stayed in Forget-Me-Not, which we shall promptly forget. Good bones, but in dire need of refreshing. Huge outdoor patio with two chaises with covers so dirty and unappealing we could not bring ourselves to sit there. Way funky bathroom, bare basics. However, the new A/C unit was quiet and kept the room cool enough, and the bed was comfortable., so it met our needs for the night. Nice enough staff and decent morning coffee. If you are vacationing, understand the place needs an infusion of cash and TLC. Sad because it has history and potential to charm, but don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertInnKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
5.0 km away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
651 reviews
4.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
439 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
502 reviews
1.7 km away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
280 reviews
1.6 km away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $90 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing