We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts who deserve all of the praise they receive.”
Review of Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Der Waldhof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We were a group of 18 and had the hotel to ourselves. The food was superb, the service first class (two of our group were delayed yet were still served a full 4 course meal after midnight) and the location is not a concern. We are looking forward to returning already.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZurichHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Der Waldhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

We went for dinner as we were staying locally and still had to book in the morning. A very pleasant new Hotel in the Stadle area of St Anton. It is definitely worth the short trip out of the centre. It is owned by Michael (the Chef) and Andrea who will be well known to clients of the Hospiz in nearbye St Christoph. It is a great example of a family run Austrian 4 star hotel.
The decor is clean and modern, with a pleasant bar with good house wine by the glass. The fixed menu looked classic Austrian and at €42 for 4 courses a bargain. Everything is cooked individually by the Michael. The excellent soup was fresh asparagus and as good as Austrian soups can be. The sauce accompanying the fresh Char was elegant and delicately spiced. The Tafel Spitze was the tenderest and tastiest veal. I was able to cut it with a fork (Ski injury!). There was a very intelligent twist to the Kaiser Schmarren. The service was attentive and not intrusive. The wine list was extensive and keenly priced. I chose a Sankt Laurent which was interesting and sensibly priced.
This is a recent addition to St Anton and a welcome one to the excellent culinary fare in the area. Do ring ahead early to see if the menu is to your liking and remember the house guests take precedence. I hope to return next season.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We have stayed there end November. Family Ladner are brilliant hosts and we enjoyed our stay there. The food was excellent and the breakfast marvellous.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RETNUGAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My husband and I and some friends were traveling in Austria and had the great fortune of staying at the Der Waldhof. It was just completed last December and is absolutely wonderful. It is so charming with natural pine, beautiful plaid upholstered furniture and wonder art painted by a local artist.
The proprietors, Andrea and Michael Ladner are warm, friendly and so hospitable. We had the best food of our two week trip at this hotel.
If you are going to be in the area, whether it be summer, spring or ski season, this hotel is a must-you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busybeepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This Hotel is amazing......we were absolutely stunned from the arrival until the departure. It is located outside the town center which made us thinking before the arrival however don't worry at all, the Skibus connection is fabulous and should you miss the bus you get a private shuttle offered by the owners itself. Back to the hotel, which opened in 2009 and you can tell Andrea & Michael (the owners) knew what they were doing, every detail does perfectly balance. The interior is mainly made of "Swiss stone pine" and all is very bright, the rooms are very spacious and all have a balcony which is great. After skiing you are able to relax in the small spa where several different saunas and steam rooms are waiting for you and also a lovely relaxation area with a nice mountain view. We nearly forgot to mention the food. Michael is an excellent Chef and we ate royally. We never made it before 11 am onto the slope as the breakfast was so good and we couldn't stop enjoying it.... also the Dinner was outstanding......
We can highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank Andrea & Michael again for their hospitality and for an unforgettable winter holiday!!!!

....... we are hoping to return soon.....

P.S.: The beds are amazing - we have never slept better......

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meli_wink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
1.5 km away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
440 reviews
1.4 km away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
1.1 km away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#16 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
209 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Waldhof

Address: Stadleweg 40, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $196 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ostrovok, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing