We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Wastlhof(Niederau)
USD 219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Schneeberger(Niederau)(Great Value!)
USD 126
USD 100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Austria(Niederau)
USD 128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Auhof(Niederau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
270
56
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
270
56
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski guidingthe cave barshort breakwhole teamwonderful stayshepherds pieunique hotelsky sportsski tripski weltfantastic valuebig familyhome from homeskiing experiencegreat fungreat hostsexcellent ski
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Been to The Staffler on "Lads" trips for 8 or 9 years now and always had a great time and been looked after really well by the Staffler team
Went with the family for the first time this Christmas (4 adults) and another family (also 4 adults) and despite 5 chest infections,1 cellulitis, 3 dodgy knees and slightly iffy snow had a great holiday thanks in no small part to the huge effort Nick and Yana put in all day and often quite a bit of the night!
Can't praise Nick,Yana and the team highly enough - the atmosphere created in the hotel by the guest centric approach makes all the difference
Give it a try!
Dusty (Ian Haire)

Room Tip: Top floor for quietness
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick1956, Owner at Hotel Staffler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Praise indeed we think from a first time TripAdvisor reviewer and someone who has holidayed with us for well over 20 years! I'm not sure if he has ever remembered much about the hotel or Staffler experience on the many boys trips he's been involved with but the sobering reality of a family holiday has certainly focused the mind! Thanks for the kind and generous comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Spent another fantastic New Year’s week at the Staffler with our dear friends the Oakes.
For us the Staffler is: S-Staff are so helpful and friendly. T- Their Tour guides on the slopes can’t do enough for you. A- Accommodation is basic but has everything you need. F- Food is plentiful, tasty and varied. F- Family’s you meet at the staffler are so nice and most are regular guests. L- Location is a 5 minute walk from the nearest lift and 2 minutes from the free bus. E- Entertainment, be it in the Cave Bar or each meal time with Nick informing you of the weather forecast and a description of the lovely food he has planned for the evening meal, unbeatable. R- Reception from all the staff, especially Nick & Yana, its second to none.
We had a 16 year old son and 14 year old daughter with us and they loved every minute.
On the tour guide day the skiers' split up into groups that best suit their skiing abilities so that everybody feels comfortable, meeting up later for lunch. It is such a good way to get to know everybody, chatting in the Staffler bar that evening to talk over the days events.
If you are looking for a great ski holiday in Austria then look no further than the Staffler.
We are already booked for December 2015 and hope to meet some of the lovely people we met this year.
The Wrights

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CARL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick1956, Owner at Hotel Staffler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Thanks for the great review! We're really pleased with your positive comments - always appreciated! We're looking forward to having your daughter with us for a few weeks on the Elite Snowsports program and hope to see you all back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Four years after our last visit things have moved on, and its all good news. Nick and Yana, as always, are excellent hosts but with O'Malleys now in the hotel the place has a more vibrant feel. Yes the bathrooms could be better but who cares when you are tired and hungry. The three course evening meal is filling and tasty and with Nick on cabaret it is always interesting. It is experience and the people that make a holiday and these people are some of the best around. It creates a great experience. Always helpful, always considerate and always at work !! Where do they get the energy?
Hopefully get back later this year.
Neil and Sally

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nrb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick1956, Owner at Hotel Staffler, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Great to see you guys again! Long missed! Thanks for the comments and praise indeed from such seasoned travellers. Would love to see you again this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

After getting into a "slight" frenzy over the lack of snow in the Alps this December, I should have known that Nick & Yana would have everything under control. It was our second trip to The Staffler this year and we returned with the rest of the family for Christmas.

Nick & Yana's knowledge and helpfulness is really what makes this family run hotel stand out from the rest. We had to travel 40 minutes to the snow each day but the skiing and the resort that N&Y recommended was fabulous. Christmas Day was lovely and the champagne breakfast kicked proceedings off nicely.

The hotel is great value for money but I think some room upgrades would be a real investment. I for one would be more than happy to pay a bit more if the rooms were a bit more comfortable.

Nick is a great character and always has the guests laughing and creates a good vibe in the dining room. The hotel has a laid back, relaxed atmosphere where you can leave your door open and your kids upstairs asleep whilst you have a drink in the bar. There were iPads and phones charging in the hallways...... it made such a change to be in this kind of environment, it doesn't happen often these days! What other hotel do you know where you can settle your bar tab when you're back home? I hope to be back for a cheeky weekend in March.

Thanks for a great time.

The Notts & The Davis

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick1956, Owner at Hotel Staffler, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Welcome comments as always - investment in upgrading rooms always continues - but not quickly enough for us either! New mattresses, duvets and pillows this season and the odd bathroom and more over the summer. We've spent 41 pre season days with full work schedules for staff - still not enough but all in the right direction we hope for the old bird!

Thanks for all the positive points - staff make or break a holiday, hotels are only four walls and a roof! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

What a lovely Christmas break. Nick and Yana made sure that against all meteorological odds and despite all 6 of us being at completely different levels, we skied every day and were really well looked after. No stress, no hassle, a lovely relaxed Christmas.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick1956, Owner at Hotel Staffler, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Thanks for the lovely review! Our first of the 2014/15 season. Your comments reflect the very real efforts we've made over the past couple of months with hotel improvements and our determination to organise guests skiing everyday while there were snow issues in our resort and across Europe. Everyone has skied, every day and loved it! Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews