We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus Sonnwend(Alpbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpbach Lodge(Alpbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
230
61
17
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
61
17
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa areasoupcakessouth facing roomoutdoor poolmain coursesteam rooms and saunasexcellent hotelsalad buffetcourse mealplenty of choice for breakfastpanorama roomthe newly refurbished roomsthe busgreat spahighest qualityapres ski
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Alpbach is a charming, pretty village in the old Austrian tradition. From the moment we entered the hotel we were made so welcome. The receptionist, who spoke excellent English, showed us personally to our room and we couldn't believe the lovely view of the mountains from the room/balcony (for which we had not paid any supplement). Throughout our stay both the receptionist and owner could not do enough to make sure we enjoyed our stay, including advice, time tables, maps for trips in the area.

The room was large & comfortable, with bath/shower ensuite. I agree with others about the soft Austrian pillows, but you only had to ask for more and they were provided. The fridge was a great help for water, lunch supplies & alcohol from the local Spar. Drinks in the hotel are not cheap (but this is Austria), and the house wines were good and reasonable. Each person has a bath robe and slippers for the pool/sauna areas, from which you can also access the garden to relax on the loungers etc.

The buffet breakfast with hot & cold dishes had the largest choice I have seen. Dinner was excellent with four courses and over our two week holiday with Inghams there were no repeat meals.

We had a wonderful holiday at this traditional & friendly hotel and will certainly be returning to see the new spa area & outdoor pool planned for next year.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank IanPinnegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

A very comfortable and well run hotel which lived up to every one of its four stars. The room was clean and well appointed, with a stunning view from the balcony. No shower in the bathroom, but the bath filled quickly, so two could be taken in fairly short order. All of the staff were really excellent; friendly, professional, and very very helpful. The food was very good indeed. Breakfast included boiled egg and fried bacon/ scambled egg as well as the usual cold meats, fresh rolls etc. Evening meals were also very good, though occasionally one of the chef's creations didn't quite have the right combinations of flavours. Alpbach in summer is a good centre for exploring the local area, and all guests receive a lift/bus pass. However, if you go for walking, there is a fairly restricted number of walks available, and we only just found enough to keep us entertained for the full fortnight. Only one small warning: Check your drinks bill carefully. Mistakes were all perfectly genuine, but their arithmetic isn't their best feature.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmless96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed a for 4 days in the Alpbacherhof. It was really nice. The location is very romantic. The little village Alpbach is famous for his nice architecture and all people there are very kind and friendly. The hotel team was very friendly, too and the food delicious. We enjoyed the nature and also the impressing panorama view through the alps. We enjoyed the fascinating mountain views and had a lot of fun while we have been hiking.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goetzmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alpbacher Hof in May.The service was spot on, very friendly and efficient at all times. It was still early in the season (hotel had only opened the week before) so it was therefore quiet - mainly British holidaymakers who had taken advantage of a very good deal by Inghams (incl ourselves) to fill the hotel but it suited us to a tee. Staff all spoke English so language is no issue and the daily menu was also in English. The attention to detail was just lovely (a fresh rose every night, candles on the table etc) and you keep the same table all week so it's an easy and pleasant way to come to know fellow holiday makers and exchange tips about local hikes/sightseeing etc. All in all a very pleasant atmosphere. Food as mentioned before was superb and plentiful. The drinks are a bit on the expensive side as expected but also mentioned before the local village Spar is pretty well stocked so we very often had a glass of lovely Austrian wine on our balcony enjoying the sunshine.
My only slight grumble would be the small bathroom size and the apparent lack of a showercurtain - it wasn't that a shower curtain was missing in our room - there simply was never one intended so after the first person had showerd, the bathroom was very wet and slippery and we had to put towels down to soak up the water. Also, me being a woman, the hairdryer was just awful (one of those horrible 900w tube things that only blows a bit of warm air so it takes forever to dry your hair) Again, due to the absence of shower curtain you couldn't even dry your hair (or be in the bathroom at all) whilel the other person is showering or you'd get soaked. So, tip for the ladies, bring your own hairdryer !! All that aside, I could not fault the hotel by any means....Sauna, steamroom were both very nice too and apparently hotel is building a new wellness centre by the end of the year so that'll be something to look forward to.

One other great thing is the complimentary Alpbach Seenland Card which allows you to use the local buses and some of the lift/gondolas in the area for free (other discounts also include the local swimming pool, the superb Augustine Museum in Rattenberg and other things). We certainly made the most out of it !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Room excellent with fabulous views.
Food and service first class.
Gala dinner - pleasant surprise but the restaurant can be a little dull

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews