We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, obliging and very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fischerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fischerwirt
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, obliging and very good value”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have just spent a week here on an all inclusive package. In terms of value for money the hotel and package are excellent. The food was great, the stafff very helpful, friendly and could not do enough for you. The situation of the hotel is fine for getting to places in Zell although trutht to tell the street noise can be a bit much at times if you want to get to bed early. We have been told by a travel representative that in Zell there are no hotels with air conditioning as the weather there does not normally get too warm, so if you are desperate for air conditioned rooms look elsewhere. If we return to Zell - and it is a lovely place - we would return to the Fischerwirt without hesitation. AJH

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    56
    13
    12
    11
See reviews for
49
96
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I suppose if you choose this hotel for a skiing holiday, the location is good, but there are many other hotels in the same area. The hotel is rather run down, I have never seen such dirty carpets in the reception/dining area in any of the (many) hotels we stayed in. When we arrived there was the most awful smell coming from the dining area which went right up to our room on the 3rd floor. I did not eat a meal as my plate at the very first breakfast still had the remnants of somebody else's dinner on it, not entirely enticing to stay and enjoy a meal... The rooms were at least clean, but with no air conditioning and the street below is indeed very noisy. The staff were at least friendly. I will not recommend this hotel to mildly discerning travelers, it is disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have just come back from a week at this hotel. Most reviews beforehand were good so we were looking forward to it. We got there at 7pm and was instructed to come straight down to an evening meal, which we did. We recieved a full 4 course meal but guests arriving later only received a main meal and that was it.

The meals are for the most part quite good, the rooms are cosy and most of the staff are friendly but that is it. It was advertised as All Inclusive but no lunch was provided except for a meagre lunch packet. (One roll with ham or cheese and a piece of fruit) Other All Inclusive hotel guests at other hotels received a buffet lunch and a more comprehensive lunch packet whch we feel is more appropriate for all inclusive board basis.

The room was above a local bar located on the precinct so was very noisy at night - people coming out at 2-3am and shouting their heads off, trains running at all hours of the night, a very noisy cleaning truck came round at 6am and then the church bells tolled at 7am. The room was also very, very hot so closing the window was not an option either.

The manageress there was very rude and abrupt and would speak to us like naughty school children rather than welcome guests and any requests e.g for an early breakfast so we could go on excursions was also met with disgust and were refused initially - but then she would say Ok , 7.15am but we could only have cereal and toast as other items were not available until after 7.30am. (our excursion was leaving at 8am and we had to be there 10 mins beforehand.) 'What, do we expect her to get up at 5am? ' was one response we recieved. This is just one example of this lady's attitude towards us.

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we would not recommend the Fischerwirt Hotel. Book a room elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had a room above the precinct which was both hot and noisy. Do not book a room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jocat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here for a wedding in February with about 20 other family and friends. Where do I start. Boring stuff first... Location is so central. Right on the main pedistrian street and so in the middle of everything. A short walk from the main ski station but there are lockers there for all your stuff. Food is amazing and so much of it. No need to eat out at all. The hostess Monika is great fun, personal and so helpful. She works hard and will do anything to keep you happy. the Staff have the same attitudes which is lovely after a long day on the mountain. Rooms are clean, large and very comfortable. I'd definately recommend this hotel and I've been skiing alot. Great resort and the best base for a week in Zell am See.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We travelled with Thomson to the Fizcherwirt and have no complaints with them at all. We would definately book with them again. However the hotel was very disappointing. First of all they gave us a room without a balcony which we'd paid for. Our rep was able to sort this out but couldn't change rooms until Monday when we arrived on a Saturday! Thomson did give us a refund for the days without correct room.

We'd also paid for all inclusive but upon arrival after being ordered into dinner immediately we found that the first meal was not good, however the meals did improve during the week. One night we had to be led over to a sister hotel promptly at 6.30 for dinner but this was actually much better. Do not turn up late for dinner as everything will be lined up in front of you on your table to eat as quick as possible as happened to one couple who misunderstood the timings. Drinks were supposed to be available until 10pm but it was very rare that someone was around to serve us. One evening we gave up completely. In the brochure it mentions an outside bar but we were told that this is a seperate business to the hotel and wasn't included in the all inclusive even though all the hotel staff seemed to work in there. Cake and coffee should have been served between 4 and 5 but at the beginning of the week the machine was broken and there was just a few crumbs of cake left on a very small plate. Packed lunch had to be ordered before 7pm for the next day but consisted of one roll with either a slice of ham or cheese, no butter, salad or anything, and one piece of fruit. We bought future lunches from Billa supermarket which were very good.

The rooms were unbearably hot with no air conditioning or fans available. If you left the door or window open all night you'd be woken with the sound of people singing and shouting until 4 or 5 in the morning. Also in need of refurbishment as a bit tired looking and wardrobes smelt musty, however rooms were kept very clean every day. Also the dining room has no air conditioning either and it's not enjoyable eating in there.

We loved Zell am See and would recommend going with Thomson as the trips and reps were brilliant, just don't stay at the Fischerwirt.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 21willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
0.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
356 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
973 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 43 in Zell am See
325 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
308 reviews
0.4 km away
AlpenParks Hotel & Apartment Central Zell am See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fischerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fischerwirt

Property: Hotel Fischerwirt
Address: Seegasse 5 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price range (per night): $173 - $276
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fischerwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fischerwirt at Zell am SeeDirectly in the centre of Zell am See, only a few steps to the lake! You have only to walk two minutes to the lake an five minutes to the cable car. Enjoy your day or visit the busy street in the front of the hotel were you will find the cafes- restaurants, bars and shops. The starting point for different walks-hiking- tours and excursions.For the balance of body and soul we recommend a visit in our head house the "Romantikhotel Metzgerwirt". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fischerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fischerwirt Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing