We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to relax after a long day on the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Gretl

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Chalet Gretl 7/8 person sauna
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Lounge
Chalet Gretl
7/8 person sauna
Enjoy dining on this beautiful walnut, mahogany and satinwood dining table
Beautiful view of the mountains
In-built twin beds with balcony
En-suite twin 2nd floor bedroom
Twin 1st floor bedroom with balcony
Main stairs
1st floor landing
Twin 1st floor bedroom with balcony
Twin 1st floor bedroom with balcony
Twin en-suite bedroom 2nd floor
En-suite twin bathroom 2nd floor
Family en-suite bedroom 2nd floor
Family en-suite bedroom
Family en-suite bedroom 2nd floor
Lounge
Master bathroom
Time to relax
Kitchen
Upstairs view
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Zell am See, Austrian Alps

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
africaexp...
Johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to relax after a long day on the slopes!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Just returned from a week at Chalet Gretl in the gorgeous village/town of Schuttdorf just outside Zell Am See. The chalet was really spacious and the rooms were very well kept. The lounge was the ideal place to chill out with my friends after a long day on the slopes, and the sauna was an added luxury! The hosts were really friendly and made everyone feel at home, and the food was delicious and really varied. We were shuttled to and from the slopes everyday at whatever time we liked, which was great and meant we didn't have to worry about buses or taxi's etc. We also made the most of being able to walk home if we wanted from Arietbahn as well, which made for a nice stretch of the legs after skiing. The chalet is only 5 minutes from Zell by Car, or you can catch the little train which is less than a 5 min walk from the chalet. Alternatively its about a 15 min walk along the lake into Zell, which i'd definately recommend, as the views are stunning!

Overall an awesome week skiing, with some great friends in a great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sauna and spaciousness of the entire chalet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john r
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Place for Family Holiday”
Reviewed 25 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We were 7 adults with 4 boys under 6. The chalet was very spacious, very clean and comfortable. The large lounge and large dining room in particular. The boys also enjoyed the garden.
The chalet is close to local rail and bus links so it was easy to get about.
Our host Dave made us very welcome and was helpful throughout the week.
We may well be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Reviewed 15 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: It could do with a separate washing machine for guests.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deb95
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as advertised, poor experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Standard of food of a very poor and unacceptable quality
One guest given food that they were allergic to, despite being alerted to this.
Cleanliness and hygeine appauling and dangerous
"Cook" did not bother to get up one day to prepare our breakfast.
Took many requests and weeks before security deposit was returned.
No recompense from owner when complaint was made.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Skiing in Zell am See
Liked least: Food, Lack of Hygeine, Customer Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2012
It’s always good to have feedback on what our guests feel we are doing well and on what they don’t. While its clear that on this groups second visit to us more than a year ago, there were obviously some personality clashes, the many hundreds of very happy people who we look after each year tell a very different story.

‘I just wanted to say that we had a great time over Christmas! Dave´s cooking was spot on, and John was fantastic. He deserves special mention for jumping in the car and coming to pick up the 3 year old (and grandparents) when she had a toilet accident ... he was there within about 5 minutes, much appreciated!’

‘The food was perfect. The three course meals served every night were excellent and we even asked to make less food as it was abundant.’

‘The chalet was very clean, very comfortable and in a good location’.

‘The Chalet was great and Dave and John were fantastic and were always checking that everything was ok and that we were having a good time. They helped us get our ski hire sorted and gave us some very useful advice. The food was good and the transport provided was also very useful, so overall we had a very enjoyable holiday in a very nice place so thank you.’
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fearless6...
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing