We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Austrian hotel experience”
Review of Der Kapruner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Der Kapruner Hof
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Genuine Austrian hotel experience”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is on the edge of Kaprun in a quiet location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in seems to have been recently modernised with good quality fittings.It was scrupulously clean and very warm. A few small issues: the shower handset is an attachment over the bath and the hose struggles to reach the upper fitting to get it in to shower position. Also the wood panelling in the bedroom creaks and clicks all night long (presumably because it is new). There is no wifi access in the rooms, but it is available in the bar or restaurant. There did not seem to be any other sitting area where you could use it.
Food was ok - ample fresh breakfast, especially if you arrived in good time. A few things ran out eg muesli if you were a straggler. Food at dinner was also fine - in fact it seemed to improve whilst we were there ? new chef.
Parking outside the hotel seemed crowded at times, just one car space too short on occasion.

Overall a pleasant experience from a family-run hotel which cares about providing a good service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We chose this hotel at the recommendation of the travel agent - an excellent choice. This is a family managed hotel where we did feel at home and not just as another couple of tourists. They would do all to accomodate your needs. We later found out from the owner that we can also book directly with the hotel. Which we will do as we do intend to return for a ski break again, next year. I believe it can equally be an excellent summer destination.
The hotel as well as all its amenities are spotless - rooms are spotless, nice, big, clean and with a nice terrace in our case overlooking the mountains and the small river just on the side. Booked breakfast and dinner - all home cooked food, with a nice Austrian buffet on Saturdays and 7-course dinner on Sundays, for the rest of the week 5-course meal with a choice for the main dish (between meat, fish and vegetarian). Quantity and quality-wise, as well as service (Manuela was our favourite, she cheered our evenings, but we equally liked everyone cannot complain one second) all are 5 stars. Drinks are to be paid separately but this at very reasonable prices. Cake PM but we only tried once.
The hotel has a nice relaxing bar as well as a mini-Spa area with jacuzzi and various saunas/ hammam and relaxation area; can also book massages/ other which we didnt as not enough time.
Going to the ski slopes is easy - there's a hotel shuttle until 11am or else can take a free public bus ride all day long. Need to count 30-45 minutes to reach the top but when on holidays this is a rather pleasant trip.
Kaprun is a nice small village, very clean and having just enough restaurants and shops for a week, we did not get bored walking around almost every day.
Everyone in Kaprun is extremely nice and helpful, forget the stress of large cities - this is truly tourist-oriented and in a friendly way.
We cannot recommend enough this hotel and the location, the family who's managing it as well as the personnel.
Looking forward to going back there again.

Room Tip: Depending on budget, rooms can be larger however no other specific tips as everything is spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at the kaprunerhof hotel January 2012 with my family could not fault the hotel or the staff would recommend to anybody looking for as good family ski hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerstin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Arrival in Kaprun, we really did not know what awaits us, we were here first. Although we arrived until around 10PM dinner waiting for us and a very nice welcome.The rooms were very nice and warm konfortně, with excellent lift and Jacuzzi with sauna.Breakfast emerging, only a small recommendation, we added to scrambled eggs and bacon. However, very tasty dinner and we ate and eyes. as they say is all about people. Here I highlight e great and helpful staff including the Director and the best waiter we've ever Thomas in which the hotel had the privilege of knowing. There really is true, "our customer is our master." Thank you for everything and for the year is already looking forward to seeing. Michelle and Roman from Czech rep..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed in Kaprunerhof for 1 week in Jan 2012. From the arriving moment till the very end everything was perfect: room, breakfast, snacks, sauna&waterbeds, dinner courses and of course the wine list. Add to that some sunny warm days on Kitzsteinhorn and you'll have the picture of a wonderful holiday. I recommend you this place from my heart.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liviu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaprun
0.6 km away
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
Das Alpenhaus Kaprun
#2 of 30 in Kaprun
302 reviews
1.6 km away
Tauern Spa Kaprun
Tauern Spa Kaprun
#1 of 30 in Kaprun
611 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#5 of 30 in Kaprun
252 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tauernhof
Hotel Tauernhof
#3 of 30 in Kaprun
255 reviews
1.1 km away
Verwohnhotel Votters Sportkristall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Kapruner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Kapruner Hof

Property: Der Kapruner Hof
Address: Schulstrasse 21, Kaprun 5710, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Kaprun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kaprun
Price range (per night): $229 - $355
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Kapruner Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Der Kapruner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing