We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
74
61
21
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
61
21
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two floors living room castle hotel second floor breakfast buffet coffee and tea nice pastries over christmas mini bar hotel room very nice hotel upper floor day trip recommend this place wellness area wedding toilet
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We had travelled to the hotel with another couple and shared a room with them ( this was the cheaper option), we were pleasantly surprised to see we had our own floor each with en-suite. We hadn't booked in for evening meal but although the restaurant was busy they quickly set up a table for us, the food was delicious and the service efficient. The Breakfast buffet was brilliant. We were short on time as we were on a road trip on motorbikes but managed a quick look at the town with its market stalls and church which featured in the Sound of Music. We were interested in the architecture of the hotel as it was once a monastery and were fortunate to be shown round by a member of staff who was extremely knowledgeable about its past history. We wish we could have spent longer at this hotel, it was fabulous, we will certainly be returning.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We have visited many hotels around the world but this has topped the lot so far. Perfect location right next to the beautiful church from the sound of music film, but more importantly right in the centre of Mondsee itself so cafes and restaurants everywhere. Only five minute walk to the lakes edge. Where there is also lots to do. We had a hire car so visited lots of things in Salzburg too which we would recommend. The staff in the hotel couldn't be more polite and helpful in particular the staff at breakfast time. Breakfast was varied and lovely we sat outside each morning overlooking the lovely garden where we could also see the church. Our suite for the five of us was very big which we need it was like having our own apartment in beautiful surroundings. We had maid service every day which was also excellent. It's one of few places we would return to - highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Didicritic08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Centrally located in Mondsee. Pleasant lounge and restaurant in the castle.

The rooms turned out to be huge, well-appointed suites with a small kitchen and a loft.

Good bed mattresses and fluffy pillows.

Great and versatile breakfast buffet with service and frying bacon and eggs etc.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gudbrand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

The hotel is in a wonderful location particularly if you are a Sound of Music fan. The suite was spacious, although the upper floor did not have a television, but was nice if you just wanted to read. The bed was very comfortable however the bathroom was a bit of a let down. The shower is over the bath and we found the bath was particularly slippery and when asked if there was a non slip bath mat available the hotel said they did not have any. Our package included breakfast and dinner and these were tasty and good value. Michael, the waiter in the dinner restaurant deserves a special mention. He always went out of his way to be helpful which was very much appreciated. The addition of a fridge rather than a wine cooler in the room would be great.
The check-in process on arrival could be better. Perhaps an offer to assist with luggage and bring luggage to your room would make it more in line with international standards and expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Brilliant hotel in an old monastry next to the church form the Sound Of Music. Great apartments, atmospheric spa and amazing breakfasts. Mondsee itself is lovely and easy to get the bus to Salzburg ( though takes an hour). Would highly recommend as an alternative to Salzburg in the summer especially as the lake swimming is great.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindzi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews