We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holidays for parents and for kids”
Review of Familienhotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Familienhotel Post
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Millstatt
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Cosy, safe and welcoming: this is how I would describe the hotel situated in the most beautifully located town I have ever been. I had been planning to spend a holiday in a Kinderhotel for ages and I was not disappointed. The location is excellent, on a very quiet street of an ancient town with breathtaking views of the lake and mountains. We went during the low season and it felt we were visiting friends, rather than staying in a hotel. The staff and guests are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a freshly renovated room “Sued”. It was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable and bathroom had everything you would expect there to be. Inside the hotel is very warm. You need to have some light comfortable clothes and shoes. The children’s play centre was excellent, our boys loved being there and all the teachers were very caring and nice. The food was good, however being typically Austrian lots of dishes were with red meat and we wished for more fish and chicken. Children’s menu was excellent. Our children ate very well, which is always a bit of a worry when you are away from home. Swimming pool and children’s pool were warm and clean, we used it almost every day. My only advice you would get much more out of your holidays if you rent a car. The daily trip tips the hotel provides are for the guests with car and we were disappointed that many locations are not reachable by public transport.

Room Tip: Ask for room Sued and have an exciting view over lake and mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fuji115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

The three of us went to Familienhotel Post in Millstatt at Easter and had a great time. We have been to a couple of other Kinderhotels and this one is my personal favourite (my son's opinion is different because another hotel had a waterslide but he also really liked Familienhotel Post).

The service and friendliness were the strongest bits. Peter is the owner's son- and he is friendly and warm. When our arrival dates overlapped with a period the hotel was closed for renovation, he booked us into a nearby hotel for the first days of our holiday and arranged transport for us back and forth. He suggested loads of activities for us to try and personally leads mountain bike treks, fishing trips, etc. He also popped by to check in with us at least once a day- not in an obtrusive way, but in a friendly, personable way. He makes you feel more like a friend and house guest rather than a client. You can tell this approach is working as many of the guests have been coming every year for years and years.Tthere were a lot of families with teenagers who have been coming since the children were babies.

The building is nice- a classic hotel but updated with lots of amenities. The pool itself is really special, with huge windows and the pool itself is stainless steel- very striking and modern looking. There's lots of outdoor space too- there's a brook out back next to a sandpit which was great for building lakes and dams. There's also a pedal-cart track and a big lawn for playing. The building is very nice and although it's in the town it feels like it's an outdoor holiday when you're there.

The food was really nice too, not quite as 'gourmet' focused as some other kinder hotels but good quality and in generous amounts. The alcohol was good and reasonably priced too, There's even a cocktail bar with mocktails for the kids.

We had initially planned to ski while there but due to the warm spring we ended up having a spring holiday instead. There are lots of activities around- local tennis courts, the lake, horse riding, a nearby climbing wall. I can't vouch for the skiing (the one day on the slopes I had was decent as far as late season skiing goes) but I heard that the resort is being expanded and redeveloped this year.

The only less positive comments I would make are not really around the hotel itself and are more about us: we came with a 5-year old and the reality is that the space and activities are probably a bit more suitable for older children. The hotel itself is more 'adult' in decor than other kinderhotels as well- which we enjoyed but I could see this being a place we go back to once our son is a few years older. The other point is that the regulars at this hotel are primarily German speakers- so while they are all very friendly it might be a little tough for English-speaking children to make friends. Our son is pretty outgoing so didn't have a problem but this might be an issue for others.

Room Tip: There's some newly renovated rooms- we didn't stay in one but they looked really nice from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weybridge_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great style and comfort, excellent food and service and lots of amenities for families with kids. Great programs and very well run. Loved the location by the rushing stream I could hear all night if I wanted to . And the location in this charming village that offers a rich culture going back centuries and filled with great history as well as access to nature, the lake and great vistas. I highly recommend this place for a rich experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of the lake , this on the west allow you to hear the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

i spent a week at this hotel. the room was great (bed, linen, shower). The staff was very friendly and always ready to halp. the city is small and beautiful and the ski station is near.
i`d love to go back again and stay at the same place.
very recomended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tha_csf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Hotel has many many Good Things And a few Bad Things. So lets Start with the Good Things. The Hotel has many Great activities including Golf, Nordic walking, Yoga, And many more. It includes 4 Pools (Baby Pool, Kids Pool, another Baby Pool, And a small indoor Pool) it also has a go cart Track, Bungee Castle, Beach Volley Ball, football(Soccer), And a Basketball Field Out of Grass. One of the negative Points is The Food Because theres barely any Food Kids like( wich is quite dissapointing for a Family Hotel) so i recommend that you should go to peppinos Pizzeria (which is 5 Mins away from The Hotel.
I strongly recommend you to go to The Bonsai Museum nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edgehead4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millstatt
0.3 km away
See-Villa Hotel
See-Villa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Millstatt
214 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel am See - Die Forelle
Hotel am See - Die Forelle
#2 of 15 in Millstatt
77 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Alexanderhof
Hotel Alexanderhof
#10 of 15 in Millstatt
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
KOLLER's Hotel
KOLLER's Hotel
#1 of 6 in Seeboden
103 reviews
15.8 km away
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
#7 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
354 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Posthof
Hotel Posthof
#12 of 15 in Millstatt
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Familienhotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familienhotel Post

Address: Mirnockstrasse 38, Millstatt 9872, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Millstatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Millstatt
Price Range: $141 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Familienhotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familienhotel Post is a family hotel with up to 8 professional, loving child minders. In front of the house: a lovely sun terrace, and for the little one’s first attempts on skis there are caring nannies to make sure the experience is just perfect. Everything close by: 9 fantastic ski resorts - 1 ski pass, sleigh rides, sledding, ice skating on the lakes, curling, winter hikes, cross country skiing, snowshoeing with your hostess, getting to know the ski tours with guide, and rustic ski lodges ... Indoor water world: a panoramic indoor pool, a children's pool (34 °C), a youth gaming room, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, mountain water grotto, fitness room and palm rest room, solarium, massage, beauty treatments, a private fitness trainer, children's playroom and baby pavilion. Just 500m from the hotel you will discover a beautiful private beach at the hotel Postillion Lake with 120 m of sandy beach (lake temperature up to 27 °), a romantic lakeside sauna, 20% discount on green fees at the local golf course Millstatt, private fishing water in the lake, guided fishing trips, boats, etc. Outdoor water empire: A heated pool area with paddling pool and lots of sand, a flower terrac ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Familienhotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing