We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and a very nice restaurant”
Review of Volcan Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcan Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Volcan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed two nights at this attractive lodge in the rustic town of Volcan. The rooms were clean, attractive and large with comfortable beds but the hot water was infrequent and ran out fast. The host was pleasant and helpful directing us to some lovely sights in the area. The restaurant was very good especially by local standards. The price was reasonable. We arrived in mid January and the weather was just perfect and so an evening coctail on the breezy porch on teh second floor was perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ned2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

We spent three nights at this charming B&B in Volcan run by the excellent hosts, Vickie and Jorge. They can provide lots of info for passing tourists and prospective immigrants alike, in both English and Spanish. The rooms are simple and the food is delicious. We ordered endless coffee (nice and strong) with breakfast and always stayed for dinner, sampling the meal-sized soups and salads, as well as the meat and fish dishes. All were great. We became known as the hungry Canadians. There are four or five rooms on two floors- both floors have lovely covered verandas for outside leisure. The first floor café serves as a hub for the small and eclectic mix (Americans, Italians, Russians, Dutch and Chinese while we were there) that comprises the expat community. Volcan is small (pop’n ~10,000) with good grocery and liquor stores and a seemingly endless number of bakeries. It is a good central location from which to launch day trips to surrounding sights (e.g. a coffee farm, a site with hieroglyphics – Barriles) and a small trout hatchery (with fish and pay opportunity). Also it is just a short hop (by car, local bus or cab) to the little towns of Cerro Punta and Guadalupe, nestled in the mountain foothills. Here you can visit a famous stud farm with tours provided and the local orchid farm (Finca Dracula). You can hike alone or with a guide in the National Park in search of the elusive resplendent Quetzales. We visited Volcan at the end of the rainy season when it was cool and wet (early November) and did limited exploring – well worth a visit in warm, dry weather.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I recently finished a stay with theVolcan lodge. I was not only impressed with the rustic ambiance and historical setting, but the owner/operators were a class act. First rate service with comfortable rooms and a restaurant to remember. The menu offers local and American cuisine with superb quality and taste at a remarkably affordable price for the quality of food items. Freshest vegetables I have ever had in Panama. I strongly advise those coming to Panama to not miss out on this establishment. Close to the national parks, Volcan Baru and Costa Rica Border. This is definately a return visit accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Socalmike63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stumbled upon this little historic inn and restaurant. The renovations are simple but tasteful with polished wood floors and a rustic Colorado feel to the place. The owner lived in Michigan for 30 years, but being Panamanian is great at helping guests navigate the area. His wife is wonderful and a fantastic cook. We went back to the restaurant 4 times because they have the best, freshest food in the area for a modest price--simply but beautifully prepared. The hotel is a little out of the way on a small road on the right across from a small bakery (on left) as you enter the town. It is easy to miss the sign for the Manna restaurant/Volcan Lodge. I can't recommend this place enough even though it may mean that it is booked the next time we visit! BTW, we much prefer the Volcan area to Boquete! Its more rustic to be sure, but the spacious beauty, wildlife, and general feel of the place charms us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Volcan is located about 45 minutes from David (shopping), there is nothing much to do in Volcan, but relax and enjoy nature including Quetzals and volcanos. The surrounding area is beautiful, with lots of dairy farms The building is 70 years old, but recently updated, still retains it's older charm. Moderate sized rooms with private baths, good hot water,new mattresses. The area is rural, there are roosters!

The restaurant kept us coming back every night, even though there were other choices in town. Innovative cuisine, delicious fresh meat, fish and produce, served with charm by the manager/chef and his wife, Jorge and Vickie.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gringosincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volcan hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
150 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#3 of 4 in Volcan
69 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
Cabanas Dr. Esquivel
#4 of 4 in Volcan
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hostal Victoria Volcan Chiriqui
0.0 km away
Mount Totumas Cloud Forest
0.0 km away
Casa Grande Bambito Highlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcan Lodge

Address: Across From Bakery | Se toma la entrada que esta frente a la panaderia volcan ,50mts ,casa color beis de madera de dos plantas, Volcan, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Volcan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Volcan
Price Range: $46 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing