We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Orleans welcome”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #7 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A change of name caused some concern but the refurbishment of The St. Louis Hotel and the renaming to The Mazarin Hotel, Rue Bienville was a wonderful experience for us. Our greeting at the hotel was warm and friendly and overall we enjoyed our three night stay. However the long haul to the "annex" with suitcases, in the rain was not for the faint hearted, so if you're booking and not wishing to haul lugage please ask for a room in the main building.

Room Tip: As above ask for room in main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for your great comments about Hotel Mazarin. We pride ourselves in hiring the best talent in the City, making your experience a positive one. We hope to see you again very soon Hotel Mazarin. Thaks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,456 - 4,460 of 4,587 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, large well appointed beautiful room (delux king),great location, service was outstanding. Our room was on the top (5th floor), all room doors open into the courtyard, while it was secure and confortable, there were weddings during the day on Saturday and Sunday evening, the music was so loud in the courtyard that the sound in the room was unbearable! We called the front desk to complain and were told by Alyesse "it's a wedding". Yeah, I saw the wedding party and understood fully it was a WEDDING. I was asking to have the music turned down so that we could hear ourselves think...no chance! Unfortunately there were two wedding this weekend, so the second time, we checked out and went home. My advice is to call the hotel and ask if there is a wedding scheduled for the evening (they blast music till 11pm). I'd love to stay here again, but will choose the Monteleon to avoid this problem. It's not quite as nice but you won't have to worry that your ears will still be ringing 2 days later. By the way, there was a 1 1/2" gap under the door and no weather stripping around the opening, maybe the hotel will address these issues and then all will be well.

Room Tip: Ask about weddings scheduled for the courtyard and what time they'll be turning off the music, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Price1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Can't add too much to the other reviews, but they still have some kinks to work out. Our room didn't get street noise because of it's location but we kept waking up to banging from an interior corridor door literally all night long. I did report this at checkout so hopefully, the hotel has resolved this problem for future guests. Breakfast was good, but exactly the same both mornings, that would have gotten very boring on a longer stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the Bar Vin, and chatting with Patrick, sharing his "dream".

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, listen and look around your room location very carefully when you first check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel and had a very enjoyable time. There are two off-road parking spots for guests checking in - very appreciated considering how crazy the driving can be in the Quarter. While check-in was a piece of cake since we were the only people in the lobby, it was obvious that the staff was relatively new, albeit incredibly nice. In reading recent reviews, I asked how long we needed to allow for them retrieving our valeted car - to which they said a half hour.

We asked for a quiet room and the small but pleasant room off the courtyard was lovely, complete with a beautiful chandelier over the bed. The only noise we heard was a yelling child in the courtyard after 10 or 11pm one evening. The yelling was constant and kept on for quite some time. My boyfriend made a call to the front desk and they did go out to speak to the family. Shortly thereafter, they finally left the courtyard.

The bed was amazingly comfortable and the linens were first class. The bathroom was nicely appointed and the only thing that could have made it better would have been a tub instead of shower only. The complimentary water and refrigerator was a plus, as was the wi-fi. The room was very clean and the floors were very enjoyable - especially considering how dirty and nasty the carpets can get in the Quarter with excessive drinking (if you know what I mean). The only downside of the floors was they they were a little slippery in the bathroom.

The location couldn't have been better - very convenient to Bourbon Street, The Carousel Bar and even Jackson Square. And the breakfasts! We took advantage of it every morning and having breakfast in the beautiful courtyard with it's lovely fountain was a very nice way to wake up. The scrambled eggs and bacon were divine. There was fresh fruit, yogurt and plenty of pastries. A very nice treat considering how much money we seemed to spend on food!

When we were ready to leave, we gave them the aforementioned 30 minutes, to which they said, oh it will only take 5, which it did. Overall a very enjoyable experience and I'm sure it will be only a matter of time before the price matches their neighbors since it's a much better deal. Although I'm hopeful they don't because it will be my choice of where to stay during my next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gr8danegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for your positive review on Hotel Mazarin. I'm happy to know you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel and all of our complementary amenities, such as the upscale continental breakfast, bottled water, etc. Our ownership put a lot of thought in our design and bedding/ linens. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Mazarin and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I recently spent a week here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Mazarin. We stayed on the 5th floor and although we did not have a balcony, the room was perfect! ( Only rooms with balconys are on the 3rd floor). The cool black marble floors were a welcome relief for tired feet at the end of the day. The shower was huge, the bed was very comfortable and I loved the shutters on the windows. Our room did not have the promised refrigerator but one was delivered the next day after we requested one. The breakfast is far from continental, it is a FULL breakfast with the added bonus of freshly cut fruit bowls every morning. The croissants are amazing! The courtyard is beautiful and well maintained. Our only negative experience was with check-in. We arrived in the morning and was able to store our luggage but did not recieve the phone call that the clerk assured us would come when our room was ready. We had to wait in line for quite awhile with everyone else after coming back at 400 to check on our room status. Should we ever return to NOLA, we will definitely stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: High floor (the presidential suite is amazing if you are not on a budget, we only got a tour but did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vlbcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,701 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,924 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $231 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing