We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2005

If you're looking for a full-service hotel in the French Quarter, then this is the place to stay. The hotel is located one block off of Bourbon Street in a quieter area known for its art gallaries, antique shops, and restaurants. The doormen, bellhops, counselior, and front desk staff were all pleasant and helpful, and actually seemed to enjoy their jobs. The roof-top pool and cabana bar is perfect for some afternoon R & R with a wonderful view of the city below. And the revolving Carousel Bar just off the Hotel Lobby (with lively piano music on Wed. - Sat. evenings) provides for interesting people watching in a relatively low-keyed environment.

As some have pointed out, the rooms are on the smallish side, but compared to other New Olreans hotel rooms where we have stayed, they are well-appointed and comfortable, and the upper floors have majestic views of the French Quarter (ask for a room on floors 10 or up overlooking the Mississippi River).

Depending upon when you are traveling, you may be able to land a room at a bargain rate compared to what you pay for similar rooms in other cities. For example, we booked a delux room directly through the Hotel's web site -- the day before we checked in -- for under $150 a night. Regular rooms were available for under $100 a night (although I suspect they were much smaller than the delux rooms, and have less interesting views).

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank HVRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,590 - 7,594 of 7,801 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2005

I stayed at the Monteleone for five nights in early June. I've stayed in top notch hotels all over the world, and I have to say the Monteleone is among the best. I couldn't believe some of the negative reviews written recently. The people who said the rooms were old, unclean or poorly furnished must not have stayed in the same place I did. Yes, the hotel is old, but it recently underwent a complete renovation. Yes, the rooms are small, but so are most of the rooms in the Quarter. (In fact, most hotels of this age have smallish rooms). The personnel at the hotel couldn't have been more charming or helpful. We had a minor mixup with our car company, and the concierge took it upon herself to contact the company even after we had checked out to make sure our bill was not overcharged. I have never ever written a review of any hotel - but I just had to share my experience with the Monteleone. It is a real gem - in the US and the world.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank emtcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
116
Reviewed 30 June 2005

Stayed at the Monteleone recently, and I like to put in my fifty cents by writing this short review.

The hotel is reasonably priced for a French Quarter hotel and is in a great location close to everything. The hotel is also a short block away from the House of Blues, which can make your stay a bit noisy in the early morning hours by late-night revellers who might awaken you.
The hotel is a little aged and needs some work here and there. The rooms are nicely furnished, but sort of small and in need of a little cosmetic overhaul. The housekeeping staff could also do a better job cleaning the rooms as not everything in my room was properly dusted and vacuumed. In addition, the front desk staff was very slow while checking in new guests, and not always responsive by answering service calls made from the room.

Giving my opinion after my stay here, I would in all fairness say that the Monteleone deserves at best an average rating, but definitely not any higher!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2005

My husband and I spent a couple of days in New Orleans before our honeymoon cruise. We spent two nights at the Monteleone (booked with hotels.com for $99/night). The lobby although small is beautiful. All the employees we spoke with were courteous and professional. The location couldn't be beat. It's a three-minute (if that) walk to Bourbon Street but just off the main tourist area so it's quiet and not as rowdy. Our room was small and didn't have much of a view but had all the amenities we needed. Be sure to stop by the hotel's Carousel Lounge. We went on a Saturday night and they had great live music. I would recommend the Monteleone to anyone staying in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Bubbly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2005

We had a wedding reception at Hotel Monteleone on June 4. We chose HM because it offered so much more than other hotels. The food was absolutely amazing. We had beef tenderloin (cooked to perfection), pasta station, chocolate fondue section, gumbo, jambalaya, 3 cold appetizers, 7 hot appetizers, a great bar selection, and Dr. Jazz & the New Orleans Dixieland Sounds for live music. Cheryl, the event coordinator was very nice and professional and did her job great. The wedding cake was a traditional New Orleans almond flavored cake, it was fabulous. The groom's cake may have stole the show. It was a very rich dense chocolate cake with chocolate covered strawberries. We had "quiet time" in Cheryl's office for about 15 minutes before we entered the reception so we could eat, use the bathroom, or just have a glass of champagne. Then after the reception they sent a cart of food to our suite so we could eat again. We stayed in the Hemingway Suite which is a penthouse suite with a great view of the city. We also blocked rooms for $99 a night. The rooms were great and some of our guests (including us) even experienced some of the haunted happenings of the hotel- hearing voices and elevators going to the wrong floors. The Carousel Bar is one of the best in the city (just off the lobby) and continued partying there well into the night. Overall the Hotel is one of the best in the city and if you are considering a function I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank haida10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,427 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,995 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,650 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,339 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $255 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing