We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in N'awlins”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Great location, great hotel in general if you want to enjoy the French Quarters. We went to Uptown a few times too and the cabs are pretty cheap.

We went by places like Columns Hotel and it was a bit off for our taste (30+ couple).

The pool area is small, but sufficient.
The fitness room is not big and focuses on cardio.

The room was nice and clean, but more European in style sizewise...

The staff was very helpful. We got outstanding help from both concierges. Dont hesitate to ask for help; they'll make sure to give you the best service. Kudos to Anita for helping us with reservations at local favorites Atchafalaya and Cochon.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklas_NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6,622 - 6,626 of 7,909 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just stayed there and enjoyed my visit. Would definitely stay there again. You can't beat the location and the building is gorgeous. Love the roof deck pool with a view of downtown. Rooms were comfortable though small, which is to be expected in an older hotel. My only small complaint is the walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors if they're loud.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SGS310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Hotel Monteleone is a very classy place, they exude southern hospitality, they can't do enough for you and they are very well adapted to the wild Bourbon St. and it's effect on their guests. The decor is grand, the rooms are great and they even have a ghost. The bar is real treat, although the drinks are pricey the vibe tends to be happy, upbeat and friendly. During one of my frequent visits to the bar I heard a band practicing and noticed they were playing Louie Prima songs, I asked the bar tender who they were and he told me it was Louie Prima's daughter, I went over & spoke to her for a few minutes about her dad's music, she was very accomodating and friendly, it really made my day to speak to her. This place is a little pricey but if you want to stay near Bourbon St. but be out of touch with the street crowd when you go to bed, this is a great place. PS, did I mention that the bar slooowly rotates while you are sitting there, great touch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pompero F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Aside from the room being very small, the hotel's location was excellent. About the corner of Royal and Bourbon street
. With the abundance of small eateries and bars in the area, we did not eat in the hotel. The lobby was impressive, marble floors all over.
However, if you plan to stay more than a couple of days, I suggest to go for a better, more expensive room. Pedi-cabs are a convenient manner to get around.
Review a picture of the before committing.

Room Tip: We had the least expensive room, at $ 160.00 per night. The room was very, very small, one little d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rav9092001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The lobby area was outstanding! The rooms and bathrooms were average. A lock on the bathroom door would have been nice. We reserved a room with a view of the river 3 months in advance but for some reason when we arrived they said there weren't any available so we settled for a view of Bourbon St. I'm guessing the more important clientele received the river view rooms. The parking price of $30 is crazy but I knew the price ahead of time and being in the middle of New Orleans parking is a valuable commodity and besides Earl was super friendly. The pool was nice and clean and all of the pool staff was really nice. The location of the hotel is probably what I liked the most about it, well that and the fantastic lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ----Meat-a-balls----
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,500 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,631 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $263 - $995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing