We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience at Hotel Monteleone”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was our first visit to NOLA and I'm more than pleased to recommend the Hotel Monteleone. When I made the reservation on-line, I took advantage of joining their "club." Because of this, and due to availability, we were offered a free upgrade to a Premium King room on the tenth floor. It was spacious and included a jacuzzi tub in addition to the shower. We had a view of the water and saw cruise ships coming and going. We also received a coupon for a free drink in the Carousel Lounge. Since we took advantage of the special reduced summer rate, it helped to offset the parking charges.

The hotel is in an excellent location in the French Quarter -- close to several of the Brennan family restaurants: Brennan's on Royal, Mr. B's Bistro and The Bourbon House, and it's not a bad walk up to Frenchman Street for dinner at Adolfo's either. Walgreen's is on a corner (of course) very close by and there's a Smoothie King just down the street. You have easy access to the bus and Trolley (St. Charles).

Monteleone's decor is first class and you'll see a huge bouquet of fresh flowers in the lobby (like the Royal Sonesta) and I was impressed by the sparkling bathrooms with granite tile, more than ample supply of towels, a Keurig coffee pot in the room and a comfortable bed. Also worth noting is how quiet our room was at the end of the hallway.

As it was stifling hot in NO, we enjoyed coming back to the hotel in mid-afternoon and spending time at the pool -- plenty of towels and cold drinks. By that time, you could enjoy a little shade as well.

I found ALL of the staff I encountered during our 3-night stay to be gracious: Check-in staff, Parking, Concierge, Pool staff, Doorman and Maid service. Our maid even stopped by one afternoon to offer ice and chocolates!

We look forward to visiting again and will definitely try to book at Monteleone. Oh, and by the way, while we were there, we saw that a Hollywood celebrity made the Hotel Montelone their choice as well. What more can I say?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6,644 - 6,648 of 7,914 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

The location was great. Checking in was a breeze with very friendly staff. The rooms were nice. Some say they are small, I didn't feel ours was at all. We had a room with 2 double beds on the 12th floor. Parking was easy as we paid for valet. Again, some say it is pricey but it's the average for New Orleans and even cheaper than done locations. We had a great stay and I would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariamiller224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Location is in the middle of the best restaurantsand bars. The door men know directions to every place in the Quarter. If you don't want leave the hotel enjoy the carousel bar or the rooftop pool and bar. Hotel built in late 1800's so rooms are a little bit small but very nice. It will be my hotel of choice in N.O. from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I live in New Orleans and am very familiar with the Monteleone. Housekeeping decided to clean our room after we had checked in and took everything we had in the room. Gracious at first for the mistake, when we called a second time to try to retrieve our things, we were treated rudely, coldly, and with contempt. We did not recover all our items.

The room was so tiny, we had to wait on each other just to get to the closet. Less than one foot room from the entertainment center to the foot of the bed. Only coffee machine for amenities. Bathroom had no room for anything but very small items. The shelf extended over the toilet making one have to lean/reach over toilet just to get to the shelf, causing items to fall in on several occasions. This room was not planned in any way for comfort, but obviously planned to shave off space to add another room to the floor plan; i.e. money, money money over any sort of comfort.

The buffet was adequate but not great as has been in past stays, and the parking fee was outrageous. The renovation of the Carousel bar was decent, but if you want to sit at the bar, you will have to wait awhile.

Overall, for the cost of this hotel, I suggest you look around for a better deal. I have spent a lot of time in the Monteleone, and this was, by far, the worst. I have suggested to all my friends that so love this place, to pick another hotel for visiting during their JazzFest vacations (30 people or so), at least until the GM is replaced, and the staff retrained, and the rooms corrected for decent space.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first, some are so tiny it's impossible to move around for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimbiPetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear Moonshinevoodoo,

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Thank you,
Hotel Monteleone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I have had some very good stays at the Monteleone, but most recently was a bit lacking.My wife and I recently spent two nights at the hotel, with our two 20-something daughters in an adjacent room.
The good:
This IS, after all the Monteleone, with history and character. It is a beautiful, traditional New Orleans hotel with that special French ambiance.
The location on Royal street is perfect for the French Quarter, but one block away from the craziness of Bourbon Street. Still, an easy walk to all FQ attractions. Probably my favorite location in New Orleans!
Check in was easy, front desk staff friendly and personable. Both rooms ready, though we showed up at 12 Noon.
The Carousel bar has been recently renovated and is larger, "spiffed up", has live entertainment (at least it did on the weekend), and serves a fantastic Ramos Gin Fizz! Lively, fun and charming as ever.
The bad:
Rooms (Classic King) were TINY!! Very uncomfortable for two people to move around in at the same time. Bathrooms small too, with very little counter space.
Housekeeping. Rooms were NEVER made up. I'm not talking about turndown service, mints on pillow, etc. I'm talking two days and nights with nobody entering either room! Just before we checked out I noticed the message light on the phone blinking: It was Housekeeping, checking to make sure we did not need our rooms made up! I thought that was pretty much standard, but apparently not.
The restaurant is new, Criollo. We did not try it. Had a generic breakfast buffet catered by the hotel. Nothing special but not bad.
Would I go back? Yes, I would, but with somewhat lowered expectations. Hope things will perk up because this has always been a special place!

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a larger room and call housekeeping ahead of time to let them know that you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,638 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,397 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,724 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: AU$264 - AU$1,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Preferred Hotels, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing