We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, beautiful hotel!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Monteleone. We travel to New Orleans every April and have stayed at different hotels each time, while always admiring the Hotel Monteleone as it is a fixture in the city. This time, we decided to finally stay there and LOVED it. It is a gorgeous hotel with character/history. The hotel bar is a must see in New Orleans so it's great to have it right in the lobby. The carousel bar has started to do live music now and so it was great to hear music while sitting in the bar several nights during our stay. The location of the hotel is the best in New Orleans. It is located on Royal Street, a beautiful street in the quarter lined with antique shops. Cafe Beignet is right down the street so you can walk there for a coffee or beignets in the morning. You are close enough to anything you might want to do while also having the ability to avoid the noise and chaos of Bourbon street when you want. We would stay here every time in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6,752 - 6,756 of 7,909 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

This hotel is excellent!! It is very clean and beautiful! The staff is attentive and accomodating. The bed was extremely comfortable in the preferred king room. The pool is clean and lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Comfortable beds, great location, lots of shops, roof pool, view of mississippi from the room, helpful staff....definately has the amenities to make a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sienaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hotel was beautiful and location was awesome for us. We stayed during the French Quarter festival and all the staff was outstanding, friendly and eager to help with directions or anything really. Glad I chose this hotel for my first trip to NOLA but I think the rooms are a bit overpriced. But then again it's the French Quarter so all hotels are pricey. I don't have any complaints

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lp813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here during Mardi Gras festival for 3 nights. Seriously, it was perfect location. Only a block away from Bourbon street and Canal street. Jackson square and other place within French Quarter area was in the walking distance range. The doorman and bellboy was nice. The receptionist was busy but still nice.

The room itself has an antique or old decoration. Quite small room and small bathroom though. We already got a high floor room but still can hear noise from outside. But what can you expect ? Its Mardi Gras ! So we were okay. It was quiet enough compare to real thing down there.

So we really recommend this hotel especially for Mardi Gras.

Room Tip: Try to get higher floor rooms to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,499 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $263 - $990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing