We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location during MardiGras!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

very good breakfast, good location to walk to parades, shops, restaurants, clean and quiet rooms, friendly staff and wonderful lobby with attached resolving Bar so you see the whole street scenic view.

Room Tip: Helpful staff at the garage, for MardiGras make sure to get to garage early we had challenges gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,814 - 6,818 of 7,898 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is our favorite choice in the French Quarter. The hotel is easy walking distance to all of the French Quarter, Frenchmen Street, the street cars, etc. The standard room was small but clean. They will check your bags if you arrive early so you can start exploring as soon as you get to town. The Concierge was helpful and booked hard to get reservations. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workinggirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We chose this hotel because it was not part of a big national chain -- we wanted more of a local flavor but did not want a bed & breakfast (shudder). The location looked perfect and so we booked. When we arrived, emboldened by a colleague who told me she always asks for upgrades and it never hurts to ask, I asked! We were given the chance to upgrade to a much more expensive room for a discounted price (so more than our original room, less than it would have been had we booked it originally), and we took it. It was spectacular -- 2 room suite and best of all, 1.5 bathrooms! Jacuzzi tub, river view, very comfy and relaxing.
Our 5 nights at the Hotel Monteleone were perfect. Without a doubt, the best location in NOLA -- everything we wanted to visit was walkable, the shops and galleries were interesting to see as we walked by, not too noisy like Bourbon Street, which was only one block over and really fun to visit but wouldn't want to stay there.
The hotel restaurant (Carousel Bar) was undergoing repairs so we were given a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. We had delicious room service one night for dinner. I agree that no hotel should be charging for internet access in this day & age but that was a small thing and the rest of the experience was idyllic. STRONGLY recommended and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: See my narrative about asking for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RFMezzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We got a room through Priceline for $150 per night and were very pleased. The central location is very convenient, without the noise and activity of Bourbon St. Per earlier TripAdvisor recommendations, we requested a quiet room on a high floor, with a view of the river. The room afforded a small view of the river and the white brick wall of the adjoining building. Still, I'd take it any day over a room over a noisy street. The room's king sized bed was very comfortable, with high quality linens. The room was very, very clean and for an older hotel, quite spacious. The front lobby is opulent, and the room are very traditional--heavy drapes,muted colors, etc.
Given it's prime location and its quality, it was well worth the money. Concierge was readily available to give us suggestions on routes and activities.
Cons: Wifi not complimentary, even in the business center

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Monteleone and had a wonderful experience. First class service and entertainment for the duration of my stay of 5 nights. Breakfast buffet was not included in the price, and was a tad expensive at ~22 taxes and tip incl. We ate there due to time contstraints and the conference we were attending was at the hotel. It was good but I would go elsewhere if the time allows, as we did the last day.
Location is great, so close to bourbon street and all of the beautiful shops on Royal. The hotel is spotless. Rooms are smaller than average, but how much time will you really spend in your room while staying in the French Quarter?
I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea_Rah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,495 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,617 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,388 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,711 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $264 - $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Preferred Hotels, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing