We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and large old style hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The location could not be better. Staff are excellent - knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was tiny but updated and lovely. The Carousel Bar is one of those New Orleans things not to miss. The $10 for wifi is ridiculous as a previous commenter has said. You do get the feeling that they wanted to make sure they get every last nickel out of you. The location is close enough in the quarter to walk everywhere but not in the middle of all the hyper crazy touristy things. Royal street has wonderful shops too. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We understand that the rooms ending in 56 to 59 are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,608 - 6,612 of 7,685 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Here for Mardi Gras and you couldn't ask for a better location. One (crucial) block off Bourbon Street near Arnaud's and Brennan's. For the money the rooms are small but hey it is a 125 year old hotel so it is quaint rather than confining. The Carousel Bar off the lobby actually turns like a carousel and is always packed. Staff is nice and the place feels very safe-even during the craziness leading up to Fat Tuesday!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallas David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A beautiful hotel. My stay - room 339 Feb 11- Feb 15. Two problems: 1) Less important - their rediculous Wifi charge of $10/day. Nobody charges for wifi anymore. 2) We unfortunately encountered very loud and continuous construction noise beginning at 7AM on Monday Feb 13. When we called the front desk, they offered to move us to another room. TOO LATE. While moving may have provided restful sleep for Monday and Tuesday night, it did not come close to providing restful sleep or making up for the night our sleep was disturbed - a night, I might add - that came at a substantial cost. Further explanation was that the restaurant work had to be completed that week so that it would be ready for Mardi Gras. l guess my stay was not as important. Anyway - major disappointment that no discount, or even a free drink for that matter, was offered. It would have meant a lot. Doormen were great. I do not think I would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask about construction. They obviously knew they would be working the week I went, and if I asked I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Rob B,

We would like to apologize not only for the construction noise during your recent stay with us but the way it was handled as well. Although, we cannot change how the situation was treated, we appreciate you sharing this information with us so we can ensure it does not happen in the future. Once again we are truly sorry, you and all of our guests deserve nothing but the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in a more elegant area of the French Quarter devoted to antique shops and an historical mini-museum. The rooms are small and basic, but clean and updated. Expect a very long wait (over 20 minutes in line on all the days that I was there) for the elegant breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealLilyBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

What a special night! My husband and I stayed in a Jr. Suite at the hotel for Valentine's Day.
The room is beautiful and spotless! We had a lovely view of the Mississippi River and a slice of
the French Quarter as well. Bed was so comfortable and room service was excellent.
The staff could not be more helpful and professional. The hotel has been updated and the fabric
and furniture is truly beautiful. And the Carousell Bar is so fun. Bartender was personable and knew his New Orleans drinks! I think this hotel is good for all categories of travelers!
The location is perfect for French Quarter, which we love.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,357 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,919 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,578 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,306 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around New Orleans

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $265 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing