We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2007

What a hotel,

Looks so appealing from the street, nice old building. Then you walk inside and wow. Very graceful.

Staff great and very helpful.

Rooms a nice size and very well appointed. Had a nice veiw over roof tops and onto the Mississippi River.

Elevators location can bit a confusing. 3 different shafts bring you out at different places on the lobby floor.

Roof top pool is fun and a great view. Gym is average but you can get a desent work out.

The hotel location can't be beat. One block from Burbon Street in the middle of the French Quarter. And within easy strole of the river and shopping areas.

If you go make sure you venture (in car or bus) to parts still effect by the hurricane. It is amazing the damage it caused.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DazzaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,489 - 7,493 of 7,811 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2007

I can't think of a better location, unless you have a view of the river... one very quiet and upscale block off Burbon Street . The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated in a modern New Orleans style. We had lovely arched windows (7th floor, facing front) and, though we were near the elevator, it was very quiet. (previous posts have said it was noisy... it simply wasn't for us.) The concierge was very helpful and there was always someone posted at the door to help you in or out.

Didn't eat there... but ate across the street at Mr. B's Bistro, which was full with local lunchers-- brought in by really good food and $1.50 martinis or bloody marys m-f. Can't beat that!

I don't think there are many hotels in New Orleans with outdoor pools--- theirs is on the roof and it is just lovely. What a treat to lounge there in the early afternoon. (However, the air conditioning units can be heard by the pool... so it wasn't perfection--- but quite close.)

We loved the Monteleone. We will absolutely stay there next time we are in New Orleans.

Stayed: October 2007
5  Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Despite the quaint nature and long tradition of this hotel, it is not for business travelers. I stayed at the Hotel Monteleone as part of a business convention. The room was neat and clean, although during a 4 night stay I did not once get fully stocked amenities. One day, towels provided were ripped and stained.

Internet connection in the room is by wire only, and works fine. Wireless in the lobby is spotty at best. The biggest problem is that once you pay for internet access in your room, you do not get access in the hotel's meeting rooms. So while I was there for business, during the meetings I attended I was unable to access the internet.

Also, they do not have enough staff at this point. Long waits to get help to check in or at the bell station. I had booked a shuttle to the airport, and the bellman told me to wait in the lobby (since it was raining) and they would come in and call me when it arrived. 20 minutes after the reservation time, I checked with the bellman and he said it never arrived. But when I called the shuttle, they said the shuttle had come and left because I was not there. Staff was particularly unhelpful at that point.

So, while this is probably a good hotel for a vacation spot -- it is located a block off Bourbon Street in the French Quarter -- it is not ready for the business traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank LawMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Monteleone for four nights. Our room was a king room. While well furnished, the room was very small. As I was there on business, I needed to use my laptop and it got very cramped. The hotel provides internet connections in the room at $10.00 per day. Parking is $30-36 per day depending on vehicle size. The location is excellent. The Carousel Bar is very appealing and nice, however the street view was blocked for the entire time of my stay by construction repair equipment. Frankly for me the prettiest spot in the hotel was on the rooftop. The pool is small but adequate, there is a snack service till around 7:00 pm, and plenty of chairs. The view is spectacular. Sunset was a particularly nice time to sit up there. We went up one evening around 10:00 and were unceremoniously ushered out. When they close the pool, they close the whole rooftop. The fitness rooms were very well equipped and nice. The common rooms were attractively furnished and quite nice.

The desk staff and doormen were pleasant but not terribly useful when directions or information was sought. Apparently many are new arrivals to the City. The concierges were both helpful.

There was a bit of a downside. Housekeeping was not great. We found dark hair on our sheets the first night. The sheets also were very worn and had holes. The second day we found cracker packages and crumbs on our toothbrushes. Yuck! The beds are too soft and not terribly comfortable. Those with rooms below the 7th floor reported a lot of noise audible from the street.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

I stayed her for a convention Oct.7 - 11th. The hotel is right in the French Quarter with restaraunts, bars, shops, art galleries, and antique shops close to the hotel.

Hotel highlights: perfect location, beautiful quaint lobby, carousel bar (center of bar rotates), garden rooftop pool, new fitness center, lavishly appointed bathrooms, historical charm (many writers over the last century have stayed at and wrote about the Monteleone - Ernest Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Truman Capote, Steven Ambrose, among others).

Since it is an old hotel - the rooms are on the small size: you can think of it as "European style charm." The furnishings in the rooms are also more "antique style" versus the modern feel and look of a Marriott/Sheraton chain. Some people may like this others may not.

Great seafood and raw bars at Red Fish and Bourbon Street restaurants - all just a block from the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eastosceola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,438 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
5,002 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,656 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,348 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $258 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing