We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #72 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for three nights..Feb. 8-10. Check in was excellent. Fast and they placed us in a very quiet room. We were super close to everything. Great bar. Staff friendly.
Really enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for quiet if you want to be away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    1,250
    643
    204
    94
See reviews for
411
753
119
1,075
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
531 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for a couple nights just before Christmas, 2011 and I must say, I was not impressed. We checked into our room on the 31st floor and the first thing I did (as I always do now, when staying in a new hotel room) was to flip back the bed sheets... only to find dirty bed sheets. On top of that, the TV was not functioning properly, which my companions complained about.

Another complaint among my travel companions was the lack of "coffee supplies". Now, I'm not a coffee drinker and am not sure what was missing that prevented my companion from being able to make a cup of coffee in the morning, but he was not pleased.

Another comment I have was that relative to the size of the room, the bathroom and shower were incredibly small, and not really that well-maintained.

Considering the state of the room, I would have rather (in hindsight) stayed at a Motel 6 (which in my experience is usually as cleaner than this was) and saved some money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

First, let me say that the location is very good if you want to experience much of what makes New Orleans such an interesting and intriguing city. It's within easy walking distance of Bourbon Street, the French Quarter, the Casino, and, on a nice day, the Convention Center. So, the location is a real plus. Lots of nearby restaurants, including one of my favorites, the Palace Cafe (a Dickie Brennan establishment) as well. The lobby is large with a nice seating area in the center for relaxing or the informal meeting. An amenity that I find indispensible is a Starbucks in the lobby for that necessary early morning latte and muffin when I'm in a hurry.

Now the down side, while the rooms are pretty routine Marriott, issues in the bathroom drove me nuts. While showering, the tub didn't drain well, so I found myself standing in 3 or 4 inches of bathwater. If I wanted to take a bath...I would have taken a bath. I don't know if it's the New Orleans water or if the Marriott treats the water, but it is so extraordinarily soft that you need an extra 10 minutes in order to rinse off the soap scum. The weak water pressure in the sink made rinsing after shaving a real challenge. Again, not sure if this is a city water issue or a Marriott water treatment issue.

That being said, the staff was friendly and helpful as is the case in most Marriotts. It's one of the reasons I typically utilize the chain....predictable quality. But sometimes, even Marriott has some issues they need to address.

One last note. This Marriott has a very unique elevator system. Rather than punching your floor number on the panel, you enter the floor you desire on a key pad and it assigns you to one of elevators. Presumeably, this provides for efficient transport of people up and down the various floors. While it wasn't particularly crowded during my stay, I was typically whisked very quickly, with a minimum number of stops on my way to the 34th floor. Very impressive!

Room Tip: The view from the 34th floor is great if you don't mind staying on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed there for a week long conference. Every day, I'd come back from meetings to a spotless room. The housekeeper went above and beyond, even putting away my shoes and arranging my makeup neatly on a towel in the bathroom.

The staff at the hotel was super friendly and always willing to help. I was on the 5th floor and it did get a little loud one night from a party happening on the third floor but it is NOLA after all.

Room Tip: Select Higher up rooms to get away from the meeting rooms and noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovanitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel February 10-13, 2012. I am a Marriott Rewards Silver Elite member and they handled everything very well even prior to my stay. I made the reservation but was not arriving until closer to 6pm. My best friend was arriving soon after 12 noon, and I wanted to ensure she could get into the room before I arrived. They added her to the room reservation, and everything went well.

We requested a room with two beds, which they were able to accomodate even though at the time of booking they were sold out. We upgraded to a corner room, and this was great - and worth the extra fee. We had a view of the river, the French Quarter and Canal Street. We also requested a fridge and this was provided.

At 6pm when I was checking-in, the Elite line only had one person working the line, and was taking just as long as the regular line - slightly annoying but I was on vacation, and the service when they helped me was great. Loved the chocolate I got when I check-in. Nice touch. When I had a quesiton during my stay I went to the same desk and they were very helpful, and gave me a later check-out the day I was leaving. Reception area was great.

Newspaper is only delivered Monday-Friday. Would have loved to have had a newspaper at the weekend - not a huge issue.

The elevators are quite funky with punching in the floor before the elevator arrives - but nice security touch. After a few drinks it was nice to gamble on whcih "letter" elevator would arrive. Corridors are long, but smell clean. Ice machine on the floor as well which was nice.

Rooms are older. It is an older hotel. Not run down - just older. Beds were comfortable, Bedside table was good. Desk and set of drawers. No in-room safe which surprised me. (GUess I should have read the hotel description better!). The bathroom is tiny and there is not much bench space. However, hot water was pleantiful, rain shower head, separate shampoo and conditioner, and replenished when used. As I was there to sleep, I did not mind, but not sure I would want to use it as a room to work in. Views from our room were to die for, and becasue we were on the 34th floor - not too much outside noise, but can see on the lower floors this could be an issue.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, and the buffet was very good - a bit of most things, and juice and coffee. Jewel was a wonderful server and my friend had a cold and ensured she got some ols style remedies into her. We shared our excess beads (only so many beads you want to take back home) with her on the Monday morning and she shared them with guests who did not get any beads during their stay (not sure where they were during the parades and guess they did not venture outside the hotel - becasue really beads are eveyrwhere!).

Location, location, location. Okay, so we were there for the Mardi Gras Lite - parades up Canal Street every couple of hours. Perfect location. And the Marriott Street bar has great red wine by the cup - $5! Mark and Ivo were great - and we got my wine and my friend's tequila there every night for the parades before venturing off into the night. Also, the shots of Zwack - wow! Never had it before, and I am normally one for shots, but it was good.

We had last been to New Orleans 17 years ago, and must say we were very disappointed in Bourbon Street. Music scene was not good and the strip bars everywhere, and the middle age men on the balconies who expected you to flash for beads - we did not flash and got many beads....but Bourbon Street is very seedy and has gone downhill since our last visit.

Went to Cafe Du Monde - and the cafe au lait is still good but the beignets are much smaller! This is not necessarily a bad thing for my waistline...K-Paul's was godd, but very different to last time. Enjoyed hte old ambience more as it was communal seating for meals, but food and wine selection was great. Grand Isle was great for raw oysters.

Royal Street is a real treat with great antique stores and great art! Music scene (local music I mean) is now on Frenchman's Street and both of htese are places where I wish to return. next time I will stay closer to this area.

But for Mardi Gras - Canal Street is hte place to be, and the Marriott is in an ideal locaiton.

Room Tip: Room 3433 is in the River Tower and is a corner room and is great as it is at the end of the corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $183 - $510
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing