We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 123
USD 117
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 127
USD 112
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
USD 188
USD 179
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 137
USD 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 138
USD 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dauphine Orleans Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 173
USD 161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 142
USD 138
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 122
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 180
USD 172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,229)
Filter reviews
1,229 results
Traveller rating
733
348
94
40
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
348
94
40
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrenchman streetthe main housegreat locationfrench quarterseparate buildinggated parkingcarriage househardwood floorsno elevatorpool and hot tubgreat musicking suiteantique furnituremodern amenitieswalking distancenice poolstay there again
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,229 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed at the Lamothe House Hotel for five nights in March 2018, having chosen it based on the strength of its TripAdvisor reviews and its proximity to Frenchman Street. It did not disappoint. Upon arrival and throughout our stay the staff were friendly and helpful, making us feel at home. We took a ground floor room off the courtyard at the back of the main house, which was clean and well-appointed. It was a bit rough around the (extreme!) edges, but that is to be expected in a beautiful period property such as Lamothe House. It was a fantastic jumping-off point to visit the historic French Quarter and Marigny, and far enough away from Bourbon Street that we felt at a distance from the nightlife of the City. It is also superbly located for the jazz bars of Frenchman Street, and only a short walk from the end of the nearest streetcar line. I would recommend the Lamothe House Hotel for anyone visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hi Rory T,

Thank you for staying with us! We work hard to maintain a strong online reputation and are delighted to hear that our hard work paid off! We’re glad you enjoyed your time in the French Quarter and Faubourg Marigny. We truly appreciate your recommendation. If your travels return you to New Orleans we hope to welcome you back for another visit!

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The place is charming. Stepping into the courtyard feels like walking around Pirates of the Caribbean in Disneyland. The pool area is gorgeous. The staff is first rate - even though we had an issue with the TV in our room, they fixed it as soon as they possibly could and were really apologetic about the inconvenience. The location is convenient, right at Royal Street, but we did get a fair amount of noise coming from Frenchman Street. Earplugs were helpful.

For Room 215, the 2-bedroom carriage house suite, I wish I had known what they meant in the description when they said it was a "shotgun style" suite. A "shotgun" layout is a common thing in New Orleans, and it mean there is no hallway between rooms. You come in the front door into the sitting area, and there's a short hallway with a door to the king bedroom and the bathroom. That door closes and locks from the sitting area side. Then the king bedroom and queen bedroom are separated by a sliding door. There's a door to the balcony from the queen bedroom. Our teen was in the queen room and if she wanted to use the bathroom she had to walk through the squeaky sliding door through our room. The whole reason we wanted a 2-bedroom suite was to have privacy, and this wasn't it. The desk clerk on duty told me he lives in a shotgun and has to walk through his room mates room to get to the bathroom. I guess it's a New Orleans thing, but not something we would book again. I'd book two separate rooms there instead. We liked the place, just not that layout.

Room Tip: Room 215, the 2-bedroom carriage house suite, is towards the back gate, convenient, but gets the music from clubs and street musicians.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hello Catherine M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in our Two-Bedroom Carriage House Suite at the Lamothe House Hotel. We especially enjoyed reading your awesome comments about our staff and guest service. We hope you will come visit us again and promised to provide the same level of outstanding guest service for all your return visits. Give us a call and we'll be happy to arrange the two separate rooms to suit all of your group's needs.

Until next time, happy travels!

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

At first I was shocked when I was put in a room without windows across the street from the main building. But when I asked for another room Justin at the front desk was extremely nice and obliging so I spent the other four nights in a gorgeous room in one of the wings of the main building. The room was lovely, the bed was incredible, the Aveda products were divine. The hotel is one street over from Frenchmen Street, which is great for listening to live jazz- and you couldn't hear it at all from my room. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't stay across the street if you are a woman traveling alone.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernestine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hello Ernestine H,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at the Lamothe House Hotel. We are glad we were able to accommodate your requests and truly appreciate your recommendation. Please come see us again when your travels return you to the Big Easy!

Until next time, happy travels!

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights over spring break. Our experience wasn't great. There were several issues which involved housekeeping and they were gracious enough to give us one night credit back on my credit card. We stayed in a king room on the first floor close to the pool. The room was very small; when you opened the door it hit the bed. However, it was well arranged once you were in the room and although small it had all we needed. The Lamothe House is old but it has been kept up for the most part. In the bathroom, there was some minor wall damage--baseboard broken, mismatched paint where something once hung. Very small bathroom but it did have a shower/tub combo which I enjoyed. The courtyard leading out the pool was beautiful and well maintained. There's no one to help you with your bags nor do they have baggage carts. The lady that helped us with our issues--I believe her name is Rochella and she is awesome! A very bright spot in an otherwise mediocre stay. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threepowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Ms Powell,

First, thank you for your feedback and for your nice comments about Richella. We'll be sure to recognize her for her outstanding service! We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience to each of our guests and it’s apparent in this case we fell short. To accommodate your early arrival we expedited the check-in process and bypassed the housekeeping inspection step. This is why you found the lost and found items in the dresser drawer from guests who checked out hours earlier. It's not something we usually do and will take your feedback to heart when changing protocol for future early arrivals. I understand that we cannot get it right all of the time but when we make a mistake we try to rectify it during the guest's stay. After speaking with you in person I was confident we resolved the issue to your satisfaction and am disappointed to see that is not the case. We hope you'll enjoy your future travels to New Orleans and regret we did not win you over as a loyal guest to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We enjoyed staying here. The hotel is located right at the edge of the French Quarter, so it's easy to walk to many attractions. It's also close to Frenchman Street which has a fantastic music scene. The building itself is very interesting, and the pool and hot tub are a nice point of relaxation. If we had any complaints, it would be that the hot tub wasn't big enough :D

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kenandmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R, General Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hi kenandmindy,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lamothe House Hotel! We are glad you found the location to be convenient to French Quarter attractions and Frenchmen Street. Please come visit us again when your travels return you to New Orleans and we will do our very best to provide you with a five-star experience!

Nikki Ritzenthaler
General Manager
nritzenthaler@frenchquarterguesthouses.com
504-947-1161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews