We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was Staying Here”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #87 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish I was Staying Here”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

When I booked my hotel room (HYATT REGENCY) with priceline, they guaranteed savings. Wow a whopping 19% at a hotel that originally did not show up on the priceline map as a 4star hotel and it is in the north western most area of the map of where I want to be. I couldn't be farther from where I wanted to be. All of the other 4star Hotels are in the middle and centralized. Looking at the recent reviews from travelers at Hyatt Regency, this deal SUCKS!!!! I now not only have to pay $72 for transportation to and from the 4star (laughing because the reviews don't sound like a 4-star) and the airport because they have no shuttle, but I also have to pay to go everywhere in a cab because I am so FAR AWAY FROM EVERYTHING!!!! Reviews from recent travelers talk about how the air conditioning and plumbing don't work properly at this facility and how costly drinks and other things are. Thanks so much Priceline for making my first experience with you my LAST EXPERIENCE!!!!
Thanks for helping me to spend more money than I wanted to after all!!!! DON'T USE PRICELINE!!!!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PerkiAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,614
    670
    246
    141
    122
See reviews for
433
1,117
111
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grants, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

From the minute you walk in, this hotel exudes New Orleans, From the doormen in tuxedos and top hats to the high ceilings, crown moldings, velvet drapes and overstuffed furniture, it is old style New Orleans. The check-in was seemless and the room was beautiful. Overstuffed and a bit shabby chic. Beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were updated in marble and granite but small. Had a problem with th hairdryer and slow drain in the sink. This was the one place service lacked. We advised them and it was not fixed. I can understand them having issues due to the age of the hotel but not fixing them was not a good thing. We had the brunch which was excellent but were quite surprised that we were charged $3 for orange juice on a $20 brunch. The bar was excellent and the appetizers were great. My husband absolutely loved the gumbo and he ate it all over town. Kept comparing it the Le Pavillion. The location is perfect. Two blocks from the Charles St Trolley and about 3/4 blocks from Bourbon St but quiet. Overall, I would go back despite the few minor problems.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhcNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent four nights at this "Grand Hotel" and were welcomed at the door by Cedric who was so helpful and friendly--remembering our names when we needed umbrellas or directions. We were able to check in a couple of hours early and our room was small but lovely. The staff was helpful, from the bartender who brought us a late lunch to the dining room staff when we wanted breakfast. The concierge gave us great dining and jazz recommendations. We were in walking distance to the arena, French Quarter, trolley, and St. Charles St. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor, ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We just got back from a three night stay at Le Pavillon and enjoyed every minute of our time in this beautiful hotel. From the minute we entered the lobby until check out, we could not have had better service. Check in time was 4:00 and we had arrived about an hour early prepared to wait, but were given our room immediately. We had a room on the 8th floor per our request so as to avoid street noise. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Had read other reviews saying the walls were thin, and sounds from other rooms could be annoying, but we found the room very quiet. Service in the bar and restaurant was excellent, with the creole omelette and pecan pie being especially good! Roosevelt and Pam in the hotel bar deserve a special thank you for their great service, warm personalities, and just plain wonderful southern hospitality! Thanks to all the staff here, and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upper floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhowclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We prefer to stay in interesting, non- chain hotels, and were so excited to get a good rate at Le Pavillion, a four star, four diamond hotel. We stayed for two nights mid-week with two kids in March. It would get a higher rating from me if the service was better, but my opinion overall of the hotel is that it used to be four stars, has lost much of its glory, but still has most of the trappings. The lobby is very formal, with grand chandeliers and beautiful antique furnishings. The rooms are decorated in what used to be beautiful window treatments and bedspreads, but now are just old looking, but with beautiful antique desk and chairs. The room and bathroom were clean. One of our beds had fabulous high thread count sheets, but the other had thread-bare sheets that barely covered the mattress. There were only two pillows (one per person) on each queen sized bed. Not a huge deal, but its the little extra touches (like lots of plump pillows) that make a hotel four star to me. That pretty much describes our stay- it was not bad, was not great, but had moments of both. We arrived at 9:30 pm to no doorman and a driveway full of parked cars. After walking in to the front desk to ask about a bellman to help with our bags, one apathetic staff member said "he should be out there". We waited in the street for about 20 minutes, then unloaded and self-parked. Finally making it into our room, we tried to order room service, which was open until midnight, but no one would answer the phone. Repeated calls to the front desk and housekeeping to bring more pillows (only two per queen size bed) went unanswered as well. We finally walked down to the lobby to ask for room service and housekeeping, and they called us back in our room shortly. Room service food was hot and delicious, though, and arrived quickly after we ordered. The very popular PPJ sandwiches and cocoa from 10-11 pm in the lobby was a really great touch, and a welcome fun treat. More service issues at the pool the next day, however. The pool itself is awesome. It is a small little jewel tucked up in a corner on a roof deck/garden with loungers surrounding. It offers a rooftop view of New Orleans and is high enough off the street to be a quiet retreat frim the noisy city. The deck is open until 1am, so the night view was pretty incredible! The deck area was a mess, though, littered with towels, glasses and trash, and there were no clean towels. Overall, not a bad stay, but we left feeling the hotel was understaffed and needed a refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,115 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
2,428 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $153 - $438
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing