We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, very small rooms but good service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
International House Hotel
Ranked #67 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Much to my surprise the rooms were extremely cramped and although rooms have finer quality details in counter tops, carpet, interior finishes I had a double bed room and the beds were full size beds. The hallway was hot but ac turns off if you turn it to a certain temperature cold setting. While I stayed during one of the warmest times during a Louisiana summer heat I'd expect the ac to accommodate a very cold setting as a break from the outdoor humidity and heat. The restaurant was under renovation so not much to offer inside the hotel as far as food goes. This was fine for a short weekend stay, but if you are a traveler that have a greater appreciation for the finer details and amenities I wouldn't recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We do always appreciate it. We offer many different room types and are certain that we can make you happy. Our fingers are crossed that you will allow us the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Positives:
- only a few blocks away from the French Quarter
- beautiful and spacious lobby
- good air conditioning
- tea and coffee available in the lobby early morning
- beautiful rooms

Downside
- can hear all the noise from the street
- no kitchen, means all meals need to be elsewhere or pay high delivery
- no ice machines, must request ice
- very small trash cans and none near elevator
- towel rack is on the wall furthest from tub
- needs better cleaning (dust, vacuum, and stains)
- inconvenient location of outlets
- bar can get very loud at night making it hard to rest

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank wanderlust9grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are always appreciative of hearing what we might do to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will work on those things that we can as we would love to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Pros: Just far enough the Quarter to eliminate noise but close enough to walk to everything. Incredibly friendly staff. Clean room. Large bathroom. Very comfy pillows. Amazing value.

Cons: No coffee in room, but a nice coffee/tea station in lobby. Limited counter space in the bathroom. Fridge did not stay cold.

Will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

And we absolutely will look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for the kind words!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Apparently this hotel gives its clients English lessons. The gentleman that signed us in took it upon himself to correct my English to the point of arguing and making sure I expressed myself in the fashion he deemed correct. Apparently it's imperative you speak correct English in this hotel or you are not worthy. So be advised that you should polish your English before staying here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

We always appreciate comments and yours are especially interesting. We certainly welcome everyone here, regardless of their grammar and offer our most sincere apology to you. Perhaps there was simply a miscommunication? Regardless, we value you and are sorry that he offended you. I cannot imagine that it was his intent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed here to be within walking distance of the dome and of French Quarter... perfect location. Smelled clean when we walked in the door and staff was extremely friendly. Rooms were booked so we were upgraded to a penthouse and it was amazing! Great location. Great staff, great lobby, great rooms. Will def stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karafowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,666 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#81 of 166 in New Orleans
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#82 of 166 in New Orleans
2,941 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,585 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#50 of 166 in New Orleans
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Hotel

Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $156 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your International House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing