We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best margaritas!!”

El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #152 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best margaritas!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The shrimp tacos and the filet tacos were great. Also, the table side guacamole they prepared for us. The margaritas were the best we've ever had!!! Pineapple, cilantro and lime, and we ordered them TOP SHELF. Delicious!!!!!!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cadenza62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    165
    65
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

After more than 20 trips to NOLA, I finally made it to El Gato Negro. I had a Pineapple-Cilantro Margarita--just amazing!! The food was also fresh and tasty, service very attentive. I'll be back ASAP. The outdoor seating has a view of deliveries to the French market, but you are in New Orleans, and it's all good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank cupcakelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Truly a wonderful experience”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

What service! What food! What more can I say? The quality of the food here was second to none for those wanting some Mexican flare in NOLA. Not to be outdone, however, was the service. They checked up on us frequently, but did not do so overbearingly. The place was clean even though it was super hectic! I cannot give this place enough credit. Truly a jewel. Oh, and if you like salmon, try their char-grilled salmon. It was delicious. Oh, and order a Blood of the Devil margarita if you want a little bit of spice in your drink!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CDWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, OH
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I can't stop going”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I think I came from Ohio just to come here and have a Pineapple, Cilantro, Lime Margarita. We stop here probably three times during our stay in New Orleans. We ate twice. The food is ALWAYS good and the drinks are even better. You MUST stop here for some great mexican and margaritas. Order table side guacamole also. Very tasty!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bartenderess2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
573 reviews
451 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Great Mexican, nice break from the typical”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Having been in New Orleans for five days, we were looking for a break from cajun/ creole food. The food at this restaurant was amazing, perhaps some of the best Mexican food we have ever had. That is really saying something as we grew up in Southern California, traveled to Mexico on many occasions and also lived in Texas for two years. My wife had the enchiladas and I had the tamales. Both were wonderful. Even the beans and rice were extremely flavorful. The service was very prompt and friendly. We would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iamstoked22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing