We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway -- fabulous location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #113 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great getaway -- fabulous location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Prytania OAKS is a lovely getaway in the Garden District. It is located one street from St. Charles and is convenient for catching the street car. It is within one block of two favorite restaurants -- Zea's Rotisserie Grill and The Irish House. The Oaks provides an appetizing breakfast -- an expanded Continental breakfast which includes some hot dishes. Parking is included as well, so this is a great deal.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms facing Prytannia as they provide the most atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    96
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
145
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great place to stay in the garden district close to st Charles avenue for street car to French quarter. Loads of great places to eat and drink near by in both st Charles and magazine street. Room was lovely and clean and good size would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicsterscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

It's an old apartment house that's been converted into a semi-B&B.... For the price, I think you could be closer to the French Quarter, but it is in a great location in the Garden District and has easy access to the St. Charles trolley that will take you to all the places you'd want to go. Not bad, but building has issues with noise HVAC and the nicer of the two is the Prytania Park (not Oaks) which sits across street.

Room Tip: HVAC sits in back so get a room in front if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hombre-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
I am very sorry this guest did not completely enjoy their stay. The building , circa 1840's, once was a single family home with the slave quarters to the rear. Then, sometime in the mid 1960's, the owner of record that time, had converted it into a multiple room apt. building. We purchased it some years later, along with the next door property, and then converted them both into a 12 room and 4 room respectively Boutique style Hotel with a courtyard, and breakfast room.

With the renovation, we opted to install a "Chiller" system that provides a more "green" cooling environment. The only trade off, is it is a bit noisy at times. However, the beauty in the restoration of the Original Red Heart Pine plank floors, 14 ft ceilings w/ the Original Cypress millwork , and the Granite bathrooms far outweigh the "white" noise you may hear from time to time. The windows are Single paned and are original to the building. We are in an Historic District, and are under strict guidelines as to what we can and can not do on the exteriors of a building.

We offer a great value in our pricing structure, by the Free Parking (min $20/night savings) Free Wi-Fi and Hard Wired access, and Complimentary Breakfast. Even with all of this, our prices are at least 30-40 % less than the French Quarter prices on any given day. I am sure he checked this out before booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

From start to finish an excellent stay. Very friendly and helpful staff at the desk. The room was large and airy with high ceilings and a ceiling fan the operated at jsut the right speed to cool the room. The A/C worked wonderful and the bed was perfectly firm for me.

The breakfast slthough not extravagant was more than ample and the breakfast area was neat and clean with hardwood flooring and and tables. The only drawback was the slight walk from the parking lot around the corner to the hotel.

It was the perfect location to begin a walk in the Garden district and even a walk to the Commander's Palace for lunch or dinner. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Loved my room...it felt like I was in my own bedroom with a window terrace to the street. It wasn't a main street so the traffic wasn't too bad--and I was at meetings most of the day. Close to local eateries, and about 10 blocks from the French quarter. Its a nice walkable mile to the convention center.
Only downside is that I flew in late and didn't realize I had to check-in at the Prytania before going to my hotel. So I had to drag my luggage back and forth.
There is no elevator to get to the 2nd floor rooms--which was fine for me but for the physically challenged should be aware.
Lovely staff.

Room Tip: FIRST check-in at the Prytaina around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#89 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#104 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#56 of 137 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Property: Prytania Oaks Hotel
Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $155 - $298
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing