We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent”

Deja Vu Bar & Grill
Ranked #295 of 2,142 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Reviewed 8 November 2018

All Food very good. Steak nights excellent value - Tuesdays & Thursdays. Waiters very nice & very efficient.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 440maureenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, wonderful bar tenders. From breakfast to late night this place is great. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank valerieo387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

We stayed nearby and frequented this location often. The bartenders were solid and the bloody mary is solid. This is also a good place for quick, comfort food. We had steak (served nearly raw) and eggs, eggs benedict (salty), and alligator balls (doughy and not meaty enough). That being said, the food hit the spot when we needed it most. The downside, potential fraud: we were there late night on a Monday/Tuesday and the waiter took our card for payment. He then asked for my husband's id to verify the card ownership and disappeared with both card and id before we could stop him. He came back nearly 5 minutes later. Guess what? The next day Amex called and said they had suspicious activity...a $1,300 charge to Apple on the Amex card. This is too much of a coincidence. I tried to call the restaurant to notify them, but it is impossible to get a live person on the phone. We cancelled the card, or course, and used cash from then on out. We had no other issues of overcharges, etc., but ordered strictly from the bartenders after this incident.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank CaliforniaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

From the outside, this might not be a restaurant you'd pick first, but luckily we did. This place was just about right across the street from our hotel so was an easy walk for breakfast or just a cold one. We did make several visits to this establishment, for breakfast mostly, but also for some cold local beers & Fried Green Beans. The wait staff were always friendly and took a lot of kidding from our table. This really is a good place to hand out and please don't be put off by its first appearance, you won't regret eating and drinking here.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Time to give my peeps at Deja Vu a shout out. The times I have tried food here have been around 3 AM to 4 AM (on average). That's the context. Lucky Dog carts have called it a night. You can go get some Krystal's or IHOP if you can make your way there or grab some Deja Vu take out and take it back to your room. I prefer Deja Vu. What I've learned: the simpler your order, the better the food. It's almost breakfast anyway, can't go wrong there. Their biscuits and gravy hit the spot. Order them with sausage if that's your thing. Side dishes: tater tots, fries, chicken tenders, etc. Remember, the simpler, the better. Bartenders are a hoot. Order to go and have a drink with them while you wait for your grub.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DixieRae, Guest Relations Manager at Deja Vu Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deja Vu Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Deja Vu Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing