We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Garden District Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Grand Victorian B & B and hope to return soon. It was convenient to visit with our daughter at Tulane Law School. It was a lovely and well maintained mansion, with wonderful, conscientious oversight by Bonnie and Rachel. The rooms felt like home and the staff was first class. The free street parking, abundance and variety of breakfast foods, and the St. Charles Streetcar stop just steps off the front porch eliminated a lot of hassle in this great historic walking neighborhood. We are reluctant to recommend for fear that it will be full next time we try to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Don't pass an opportunity to stay here the next time you're in New Orleans. It is a beautifully renovated mansion. You will be impressed.

It is the perfect location for a visitor. The historic (and still useful!) trolley stops right out front & will take you right up the Quarter or down to the other end of St. Charles (<<< worth the ride to see all the amazing homes on this street). You are also a short walk away from the most impressive blocks of the garden district. As well you can walk right over to some historic cemeteries & a some nice sections of Magazine St.

As for the place itself, well, it's really quite lovely. All the amenities you'd ever need are at arm's reach, the beds are very comfortable, the house keeping is immaculate but unobtrusive & the owner and her team are a warm & graceful bunch.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apizzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Bonnie and Rachel went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. They were available but not bothersome. From accommodating our extremely late check in to recommendations for new spots to try to accommodating our extremely early departure...our stay was perfect. The house is beautiful, our room was spacious and our bath was gorgeous. The little extras available to guests really make you feel special while feeling like you're at home. The location is perfect in that there are many spots within walking distance as well as the St. Charles streetcar stops right outside the house. So many options for such a quaint establishment. I highly recommend staying here if you find yourself in New Orleans!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family stayed at the Grand Victorian B&B during spring break last week. It was a wonderful experience! My husband and I were traveling with our 12 year old daughter and another couple. Our rooms were excellent. Everything was very clean. Lots of bathroom space. It was very convenient to the St Charles Streetcar so traveling into the Quarter was easy. We had onsite free parking. It was perfect for quick trips out for shopping and eating at restaurants on Magazine. The only slightly negative thing was our mattress was a little too firm, but the other couple we were with bragged about their mattress and bedding. We will definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends in Memphis.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

New Orleans is well supplied with places to stay when visiting New Orleans. I suggest you try Grand Victorian. The GV B&B is a beasutiful pace to lay down each night. It is easily accesible, on St. Charles Ave, and the B&B is dated from the late 1800's Bonnie, thye inn-keeper greeted us, showed us our room, explained as much about New Orleans as we didn't already know. Breakfast is good, the beds are great, the ambiance is wonderful. And the great thing is that the streetcar stops in front of the house. Easy to go to and from the Fernch Quartersm if that is where you want to go. We enjoyed our stay and will return. As my beloved was busy with a workshop the day we checked out I was allowed to hang around after checking out. Hospitality was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambdutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#28 of 142 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#46 of 142 in New Orleans
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2727 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5929
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $204 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing