We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and wonderful people ”
Review of Desire Oyster Bar

Desire Oyster Bar
Ranked #119 of 2,143 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: The design of this upbeat and casual dining venue tastefully blends traditional with contemporary. Desire features a raw oyster bar where expert shuckers prepare fresh Gulf oysters any way you like them - chargrilled, on the half shell and more. Our Executive Chef is excited for you to try the extensive menu including signature dishes like our Shrimp & Grits, the "Creole Trio" (jambalaya, red beans and rice, and gumbo), po'boys, and the Crawfish and Fried Green Tomato Benedict. Come for oysters, stay for the menu! Open Daily for Breakfast 6:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m., Lunch and Dinner from 11:30 a.m. - 'til. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 3-6pm $1 oysters & more!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’m so glad I wandered in here for $1 happy hour oysters! These are by FAR the best oysters and best service I’ve had in NOLA. Frankie & Kantrell are running the oyster bar and they are incredibly entertaining, genuine and sweet. Just wish I was here longer to enjoy another meal here.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank flbutterfly39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeridaO1, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow! thank you for your amazing review! Hope to see you on your next visit! Frankie and Kentrell are great at what they do and are a great team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,837 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is sometimes assumed that the hotel restaurant has less to offer than other nearby establishments. Desire is the exception to this assumption. The food here is very well prepared and the staff is not only efficient and professional, they are delightful. Danny took care of and made us laugh on Monday for a late lunch and Miss Ruthie was charming and an ambassador of Southern hospitality for Tuesday breakfast. I totally recommend this Bourbon street restaurant for overall good food and very convenient location.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank SpaettiLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeridaO1, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! You had two of our servers who have been here for many, many years. They are very knowledgeable and friendly! We are happy you received great service and food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great breakfast options, great servers, wish I could eat breakfast here every day. Also ate lunch and dinner here a few times, also excellent. One time sat at the raw bar and enjoyed talking with the shuckers while downing multiple orders of fresh oysters. Learned alot about the city from these friendly gentlemen. This place just felt authentic and I was very comfortable here. Ate at various other good Oyster Bars in the area but found myself always coming back to Desire.

RB

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank GoPlaces828050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeridaO1, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and for coming back time and time to dine with us. We are happy we continued to give you the service and great food that you expected!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a party of four friends traveling to NOLA for a girls weekend. We have visited here dozens of times between 3 of us and brought along a newbie. The day we landed we didn’t have a reservation and although we were armed with lists of recommendations, Saturday night in NOLA is difficult to get a last minute reservation so we just walked around the French Quarter. We were all hungry after the flight so after seeing the long lines for Acme and Felix, we decided to go into Desire. We all remember coming to this oyster bar in the Royal Sonesta years ago, but since it wasn’t on the “go to list”, we didn’t consider it, but since we didn’t have a choice, we just sat down. Boy, we were all sooo glad we did. It was probably one of the best authentic meals we had, and at a reasonable price. Raw Oysters at $16 a dozen and they are HUGE! Gumbo was delicious. The alligator bits yummy and Po-Boy was Huge (enough for 2 people!). So, put this on your list. It’s worth it!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HelloWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeridaO1, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

WOW! We are so elated that we have made the "go to list", that is a great compliment for us! So glad you enjoyed your visit with us and your food. Can't wait for you to come in again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had grilled oysters which were amazing but the gumbo was off the chart. Staff was so nice and lovely atmosphere. A must when visiting.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeridaO1, Manager at Desire Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your awesome review! It is exciting to hear back from our guests who enjoyed both their food and service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desire Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Desire Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing