We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy the quiet side of New Orleans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden District B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden District B&B
Ranked #43 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoy the quiet side of New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility that typify this place and it's neighborhood. When you're tired from all the hustle and bustle in NoLa's French Quarter, you'll be happy to find your R&R at such a nice place! Our host was unobtrusive but very friendly and helpful. The B&B is in the middle of the Garden District, which actually is a very beautiful area, with all the wonderful houses, and the Lafayette Cemetery.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josvdberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

My almost 12-year-old and I stayed with Raynell at her charming B&B located in the Garden District of New Orleans. I didn't want too much craziness surrounding my kid and me at all hours, so the Garden District was the place for us, and this B&B suited our needs perfectly.

Our needs? Reasonable pricing, a room with a balcony overlooking a street, simple breakfast (we knew we'd be filling up at lunch and dinner), and closeness to streetcar. Well, we got all these things and much more. Add to this list: a two-room suite with room for four people, a TV, air conditioner and ceiling fans, an old-fashioned tub/shower combo, charming furniture and bedding, and more.

Raynell made sure we had everything we needed without being imposing. She provides guests with menus and locations of local restaurants, along with a computer to look things up and print boarding passes.

Location is great - many restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The St. Charles streetcar line is a short 5 blocks away, and the route to get there is lined with gorgeous mansions and tree-lined streets. On the one day we rented a car to get to some plantation tours, we didn't have any issues in finding parking on the street nearby.

The price was more than affordable for me and my kid, around $100/night -- and if you come with more than one paying adult, it's crazy cheap!

Breakfast was simple and more than enough for us: coffee maker and coffee in room, small fridge in room with fresh yogurt, milk, OJ restocked every day. In the guest area, fruit and a basket of various baked goods (croissants, muffins, breads) for guests to serve themselves.

I highly recommend the Garden District B&B for those who don't want to stay in the French Quarter, don't want to stay in the cookie cutter hotels, and love the idea of riding the streetcar into town. We've already booked our next stay, and we're bringing friends and more family this time!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBKreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Believe the reviews! This is a fantastic B&B, in a fantastic location, with fantastic Raynell, who answers every question, is so sweet and pleasant, chatted with us about the neighborhood, and was so helpful. The neighborhood is wonderful - right in the center of Magazine street, with a quick ride over to the Quarter. We stayed in the balcony room - which is so spacious - and were able to sleep well each of the 4 nights we stayed. Everything was perfect and we will be return customers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armanimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville ky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Our room was much more than we expected. Not only did we have a room with a bed but also a sitting room, a balcony overlooking the street, a refrigerator and fireplace in both rooms. Lovely to look at but not needed in the New Orleans heat. There was cereal, milk, ornage juice, yogurt, coffee and water in the sitting room, no extra charge. Not only that downstairs on the dining table were all different types of pastries. The bus was right on the corner that took you directly to the French Quarter. Or you could walk 6 blocks over and cathch the trolly. Raynell our hostess was very sweet and very helpful. Only ten minutes by bus to the French Quarter. Oh sure you could stay in a card board hotel for the same price in the French District but why when there is a place so charming.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susangail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed in one of the rooms with our 5 month old son. Didn't have a problem with him sleeping at all! And, the owners of the inn were extremely nice and made sure any questions we had about where to eat, park or hang out were answered. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aclark2196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#19 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Garden District House
Garden District House
#20 of 33 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden District B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden District B&B

Property: Garden District B&B
Address: 2418 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Irish Channel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $159 - $193
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden District B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Garden District B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden District Hotel New Orleans
Garden District Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing