We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hospitality in a beautiful part of New Orleans.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcony Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balcony Guest House
Ranked #36 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality in a beautiful part of New Orleans.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here during Mardi Gras week and were so pleased with our choice. They didn't price gouge us and even included a delicous breakfast each morning. Upon arrival, we were offered a free cocktail of our choice and Chuck took our bag to our room. We weren't going to New Orleans to sit in our room so it was fine that the room was small. Although it was small the bed was comfy and the balcony area was beautiful. I would definitely stay at the Balcony Guest House again because of the awesome neighborhood, hospitality, and great food at Schiro's.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fperez81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    91
    21
    16
    18
See reviews for
30
128
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This place has ALOT of character and if you are looking for a true New Orleans experience you will like this place. The location is safe but far from the sites, get a trolley day pass. Breakfast isn't served till 9:30 - 10:00, we are early risers so this didn't work for us. Not very clean or private and you will smell the restaurant downstairs the whole time. But if you want that gritty NOLA experience...here is the place for you.

Room Tip: Front balcony room seems like a good idea but it's not a private balcony and the drapes offer NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ttroy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My daughter & I stayed there August/September 2011. Great hosts, the restaurant etc is very convenient and the food was good. Priced reasonably & walking distance to the French Quarter etc. Plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

My cousins and I stayed here in 2010 for the Essence Music Festival. Parking is free, so that was a definite plus. At the time, we were given free drinks and breakfast. The rooms are above a restaurant/corner store. The shrimp po'boys and hamburgers were absolutely delicious. We stayed in a suite, which was spacious. The bathroom was extremely small, but the bedroom was decent in size, especially with the pull out couch as an option. You could sometimes hear the entire conversation of the people in the next room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Economy guest house is nice for those on a modest budget. Bed was noisy (creeky) and the outside tables on the first floor seemed to be an after hours gathering spot for the locals. They would talk & laugh all night long. It was very disturbing to those trying to sleep directly above the activity. The guest house includes a nice breakfast cooked to order in the small restaurant on the first floor. Restaurant staff was great. The room was adequate size and the bathroom was small, but clean & functional. I originally selected this place because of its attractive building design and the full breakfast. I wanted to try something different than the B & Bs on Frenchmen street. This guest house is further away from Frenchmen than I wanted.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Fleur De Lis Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guest House

Property: Balcony Guest House
Address: 2483 Royal St, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-7845
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $154 - $248
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcony Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony Guest House, in the historic Faubourg-Marigny, is your New Orleans Bed and Breakfast above Schiro's Grocery and Cafe(ground floor). Come and stay in our unique New Orleans Bed and Breakfast and see why everyone who stays here loves it. Only six blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Frenchmen street and three blocks from the river. Historic, alluring and relaxed(Creole Caribe), with a New Orleans style wrap-around balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Balcony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing