We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If your in the neighborhood, take time to stop by.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
brookfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If your in the neighborhood, take time to stop by.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

After taking a cruise from New Orleans, we decided to stay a couple days at Harrahs.
The room was very nice. SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE. There was even an in room coffee pot (they seem to be getting extinct lately), They have a Ruth Chris Steak house.
In addition to the steak house the casino has numerous restaurants ranging from the buffet,to Bamboo, an oriental and even a very good sandwich shop called McCallister's. From Harrhs you are also within walking distance to Manning's Restaurant. You have a lot of food choices
that are all handy to the hotel

There is a tunnel that takes yiou across the street to the casino. When we were there the weather was gorgeous, but in inclement weather the tunnel would be very useful.

The front desk and conceirge were very helpful. They arranged transportation
back to the airport for us,

The hotel is located within walking distance of the ports and also very accessible to the
buses and streetcars. New Orleans has a lot of interesting places to see and the street car is
a fun way to do it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darlene65000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,445
    798
    202
    78
    62
See reviews for
730
1,436
276
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great hotel, great casino - visited the weekend after Mardi Gras - arrived 3 days after and there were still a lot of people there.The hotel is across the street from the casino and even though there is underground tunnel access from the hotel to the casino, it was just a lot more convenient to go out the hotel front door and cross the street to get there. The major parts of our trip were comped by Caesars Entertainment/ Harrahs New Orleans - air, ground transportation from the airport, hotel and a couple of meals at the hotel. We had access to the Diamond Club which was located inside the casino. One of the best parts of the trip! The hostess inside the Diamond Club was friendly, personable and accommodating. Out of the two visits inside for drinks and snacks, only once was there just a 'couch with a coffee table' but a table opened up within 5 minutes and she got us moved over with ease. I can't say enough good things about her - can't recall her name though is started with a C - I'm thinking Corneta?! She is a true asset to Harrahs! They had several snack options which was plenty as it covered all bases. Mini muffalettas, crackers, cheese and fruit, chips and dip, etc. The casino was always full but never had a problem getting on the desired slot machines (which have a beverage service request - it was Awesome!) The drinks were ALWAYS delivered very promptly. As for the hotel, itself, the Staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating! They were tremendous - at times they had short lines but they moved very quickly. The housekeeping staff was always available within minutes as was room service. The ONLY complaint and my friend noticed it not me is that it appeared the floor in the 'commode room,' separate from the shower and main bathroom, hadn't been swept thoroughly. Ruth's Chris is located just outside the lobby and I only ordered a drink from the bar which is separate from the restaurant. Again, the bartender was very prompt and mixed a good strong drink which should be the case since it cost $14 - grey goose and club soda. If the trip hadn't been fully comped, I would still stay there - again, their entire staff was so very prompt, accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Booked and pre-paid for 2 King rooms w/river views. At check-in, we are told they have no King rooms available. Told us we could stay in the double rooms for all 3 nights or we could stay one night in the double room and then "possibly" move to a king if they have one open up. I pre-booked and pre-paid. I should have gotten what I was promised. The double room with NO river view was ok. Room was spacious and clean. Room service was 'ok'. I would have rated this higher if I didn't feel like we got ripped off a little. I should have gotten what I paid for and pre-booked. I really don't think I would stay here again. I would try a different hotel and see if I could get my King bed that I paid for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have stayed at Harrahs New Orleans 3 times now. It is a very nice hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are a nice size and clean. It is a good location to be able to walk to the French Quarter area and also waterfront/convention center area. We are Harrahs Diamond members so get these rooms for free....but always manage to pay for them at the casino!
My only service issue was the last night I had been given a late check-out 1pm. The housekeeper came knocking on my door at 11:15am...ugh! This happens at so many hotels...why bother giving a late check-out and then not inform your cleaning staff!
other than that is was a great stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor facing the river. Excellent view of the boats coming and going if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conklin, New York, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The staff was exceptionally hospitable. Friendly and inviting from the moment we entered the property. The hotel room had wonderful decor and layout. The bathroom was very clean and large. With it's location is within walking distance to many attractions - the riverwalk, french market & french quarter, there is no need to have a car. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $307 - $676
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing