We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay when in New Orleans”
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elysian Fields Inn
Ranked #5 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from7th to 10 May as part of a road trip around the Deep South. This review is based on our experience, please bear in mind we are Scottish and it may be our expectations are a bit different from others!
First impression: We initially thought upon arriving that the neighbourhood looked a bit run down and dodgy looking and were tempted to look for accommodation elsewhere, if it wasn’t for the fact that we had supplied our credit card details and would be charged for not showing I really think we would have stayed elsewhere. (Our initial impression of the area was unfounded by the way)
On meeting the owners we found them to be polite and fairly informative, supplying us with a map and a brief run down on the area. We were a bit concerned not to get parked outside the inn but were able to get parked in the furniture car park next to the inn, there is parking out on the street but it is hit or miss to secure a space, our car was fine for the 3 nights we were there. There is parking for 6 cars in the garages at the inn but we were advised that only the owner could move the cars, this would be ok if you were not planning on using the car whilst there, but we had trips planned where we would need access to the car at our own convenience.
Our room was number 204 and was on the first floor, it was comfortable and had a great shower in the en-suite bathroom, we would have liked tea and coffee facilities in the room but we knew beforehand that these were not likely to be supplied, we did have access to the kitchen and could boil water in the microwave to use with our own supplies, sometimes there was coffee left over in the flasks from breakfast and were able to make use of this.
Breakfast was served between 8.00am and 10.00am and everyday we were there you were offered a hot choice or a cold choice and there was also a delicious selection of pastries/cakes. The portion size was not huge but it was sufficient, we are more used to being offered more choice but understand things are different depending on where you are.
We had brought our computer with us and had no problem using it previously in Tallahassee and Pensacola, but for some reason we could not access the internet for our emails etc which was a bit frustrating, we did ask if there was a problem or a password but were assured it should be fine, unfortunately we were maybe just unlucky, there is a computer at the inn for guests to use but we could not access what we required there either.
The location was good and we found that we were not to far from the places we wanted to see, we were probably in the minority for our reasons for visiting Nola as we were not there for the music scene, to sum it up, we had a decent enough stay but would look to stay elsewhere should we return, this is only due to our own expectations as other guests we spoke to, who all seemed to be American absolutely love the place and seem to be returning guests.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the upper floor if you do not want to be disturbed by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blanche&DaveMcColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 274 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

I just wanted to say that I agree with all of the positive reviews. Jim & Leigh are so sweet & helpful, location, I thought, was great, & I slept like a baby every night. This was my first trip to New Orleans & it will not be my last. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessiDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Sadly, we had to leave this lovely inn after staying for eight days in New Orleans. I chose this inn for it's proximity to Frenchman Street-the premier location for good music. We could easily walk the two blocks and no matter what time we wandered back, we felt completely safe in this charming neighborhood. It is also an easy walk to the French Quarter. Leigh and Jim made us feel welcome-like staying at your favorite aunt and uncle's house. Breakfast was made to order and was excellent every day. Coffee was available all day in the lounge area. Zeke-the world's biggest golden lab-was comforting to us as we missed our dogs! The rooms are spotless and comfortable. I will take a room on the second floor next time because it is a little noisy next to the lounge (where I chose to stay and was forewarned about the noise). Leigh generously arranged tours and cabs for us and it was nice to see them hanging out with Zeke on Frenchman as well. There is a lounge called JeanPauls next door which was great my husband to wait for me in if I took too much time getting ready. There is an interesting mix of people chilling out there but we always felt welcomed! Thanks for everything Jim and Leigh, we recommend your inn without hesitation and will be back in a few years!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cate1896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Leigh and Jim run a terrific B&B. We went for QuarterFest, April 11-15, 2012. The Inn is a short 2 block walk to the Marigny section which leads right into the French Quarter. We loved our room and it was quiet after a very fun, but noisy day. Breakfasts were really well prepared each day and we just ordered for our home the coffee they use, Mello Joy, which is delicious.
We highly recommend Elysian Fields Inn and if you like jazz, zydeco, live music and would like it non stop and for free, QuarterFest is hands down a treat. The Saturday night fireworks competed with some of the best we've seen and you get to sit along the Mississippi and watch it right in front of you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for two nights atElysian Fields Inn and enjoyed the whole experience. We were only 5 blocks from the French Quarter and three of those blocks along Frenchman Street had music venues and restaurants which we visited also. The owner couple were extemely helpful with advice on activities, restaurants and walking rooutes around town. The location was just outside the French Quarter and the neighborhood was safe enough for evening walks back to the Inn.( 10 to 11 PM). An extra plus is free parking. We do plan to return to this B&B on a future visit.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet for us at 8AM breakfast, but could be noisier as other guests pass th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipjane077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,534 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,791 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 142 in New Orleans
179 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
761 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around New Orleans

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Address: 930 Elysian Fields Ave, Between North Rampart and Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70117-8536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $195 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature fine linens, digital cable flat screen TV, dataports, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter and 2 blocks from the Frenchmen music district. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing