We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elysian Fields Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 186*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 377*
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 245*
USD 170*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
USD 432*
USD 405*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 282*
USD 208*
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 238*
USD 220*
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 270*
USD 243*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
French Market Inn(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
USD 243*
USD 237*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 336*
USD 290*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 240*
USD 208*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
434
46
3
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
46
3
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrenchman streetb bshort walkgreat hostsfront porchaveda bath productsfaubourg marignyfrench quartershrimp and gritsevery morningbed and breakfastgave us great tipsplace to staygreat musicfew blocksbreakfast is servedwithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Leigh and Jim run a terrific B&B. We went for QuarterFest, April 11-15, 2012. The Inn is a short 2 block walk to the Marigny section which leads right into the French Quarter. We loved our room and it was quiet after a very fun, but noisy day. Breakfasts were really well prepared each day and we just ordered for our home the coffee they use, Mello Joy, which is delicious.
We highly recommend Elysian Fields Inn and if you like jazz, zydeco, live music and would like it non stop and for free, QuarterFest is hands down a treat. The Saturday night fireworks competed with some of the best we've seen and you get to sit along the Mississippi and watch it right in front of you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for two nights atElysian Fields Inn and enjoyed the whole experience. We were only 5 blocks from the French Quarter and three of those blocks along Frenchman Street had music venues and restaurants which we visited also. The owner couple were extemely helpful with advice on activities, restaurants and walking rooutes around town. The location was just outside the French Quarter and the neighborhood was safe enough for evening walks back to the Inn.( 10 to 11 PM). An extra plus is free parking. We do plan to return to this B&B on a future visit.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet for us at 8AM breakfast, but could be noisier as other guests pass the room if you want to sleep in and get to breakfast by 10AM
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipjane077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is our 10th trip to NOLA and our second stay at the Elysian Fields B & B.
Leah and Jim are perefct inn-keepers. Welcoming, enthusiastic, willing to share their ideas about NOLA..food, music, events, arts, yet non-intrusive! Inn is lovely and comfortable. Beds are comfortable and rooms are nice size. Aveda bath products in bathrooms; good showers and jetted tubs. Front porch is very nice for a break. Breakfasts are delicious. Location at edge of Marigny is perfect for short walks to Frenchmen Street for great music and then to Quarter. We'll be back and highly recommend.
Cindy & Glen

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyRDelaware_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Elysian Fields Inn twice this past month during a road trip to Florida from Texas. We learned of the B&B from a friend who used to live in NOLA and highly recommended that we stay there.

The house is beautiful with gorgeous front and back porches, and lovely rooms with wood floors, giant wooden doors, clean bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs and TVs with dvd players (a selection of movies is available in the great room). The fabulous hosts stood out to us the most. Leigh and Jim are very easy-going and kind people. They are knowledgeable and very hip to what is currently going in New Orleans. From their suggestions we heard two amazing live music sets, ate a fantastic dinner, and shopped at a few key shops that we won't forget. They serve lovely breakfasts (amazing pancakes!!!) as Leigh cooks on the coolest old stove I have ever seen. You can take your breakfast on the porch, which I recommend, especially if there is a nice breeze. If you are lucky, their dog Zeke will join you out there. A Golden Lab/Retriever mix, he is 120 pounds of sleepy laziness and has the cutest face!

We stayed there on our way to our destination and then re-booked to stay again for our return trip. Not our original plan, but we loved the place and the location so much we decided to stick with a good thing.

The location is quite nice as it is near Frenchman street, which has a number of great jazz and blues music venues. It is walking distance to the french quarter, but just enough away to make you feel like you're in a cozy spot.

Lastly, this B&B was incredibly QUIET. I slept like soundly with no loud noises or street chatter. It was wonderful. All of the guests seemed to be respectful of the sound level and we felt like we were the only ones in the house, even though there were a bunch of other couples staying there. If I had to pick one thing that I didn't like, I would say that the beds were a little more firmer than I tend to like, but I am a very soft bed kind of person. We slept well anyway :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashton_haley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were in NO for a business conference and it it hadn't been for Leigh and Jim, we would have been discouraged. They had all the answers: great suggestions for meals, places to visit, transportation suggestions, and so much more. Breakfast was alway good, I sure do wish i could cook eggs like Leigh does. I do, however, make a mean poached egg! The lounge was relaxing, and there was so much to read. I have already given out several recommendations to friends and family that Elysian Fields is THE place to stay! We really enjoyed our extended vacation with Leigh and Jim.

Room Tip: Loved being on the first floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews