We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,701)
Filter reviews
1,701 results
Traveller rating
748
454
243
153
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
454
243
153
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo bedroom suitefrench quarterindoor poolevening receptionfull kitchencomplimentary breakfastsuper domeliving areabusiness districtwalking distancerooms are largebourbon streetfew blockshotel is in a great locationyogurtvalet parkingan easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,497 - 1,502 of 1,701 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights for business beginning Ash Wednesday. It could be the staff was exhausted after a busy Mardi Gras season, but they seemed lackluster and unenthusiastic. Other than the check-in person Wednesday afternoon, no one was downright rude.

The room was very clean and in fairly good condition except the plumbing fixtures could use some updating. Toilet seat was loose (I tightened it - but I shouldn't have had to!) and the water faucets were leaking. Sink didn't drain well.

I was on 9th floor and heard no street noise. Kitchenette well furnished.
Breakfast was outstanding! Excellent spread, plentiful and at correct temperature. Light supper also great and good to have menu listed in room so no surprises. Again - employees were not very outgoing and seemed unhappy. (Maybe they need a raise or some time off?)

Internet free and speed ok. Coffee pot worked but only one coffee package. All other appliances functional. Toiletries great - all Nutrogena stuff, as is usual with Homewood.

It was odd that there were no employees (bellman, etc) to assit with luggage or cabs. Door very hard to open and NOT ADA compliant. Taxis difficult to find - finally went across street to other hotel and tipped their bellman to get cab. Again - could have been the post Mardi Gras slump hitting the whole city.

I'd stay at and recommend Homewood Suites again. Location good for work and fair for meals. Rouse grocery store 2 blocks away and well stocked with ready-to-eat and other foodstuff at decent prices.

Room Tip: Higher floor - less noise
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauri101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us this past Ash Wednesday. Mardi Gras was a very busy time for us, but I am sorry that you did not receive the enthusiastic welcome that our hotel is usually known for. We also appreciate that you would stay with us again!!! New customers are important to us, but repeat clientele is definitely the back bone of any business. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of future assistance. My contact info is keith.normand@dimdev.com or 504-581-5599. Once again, thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great central location within 5 block walk of the French quarters, World War II Museum, restaurants, shops, Supermarket, etc. Full breakfast every morning and evening snack with beer and wine. Great staff and accommodations. The suite was spacious with sofa bed and two TV's. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Hi Conscom Surrey, British Columbia,
We are delighted that you had a great time at our hotel, and ejoyed our convenient location. You are also right in regards to the new Rouses grocery store, it has been a huge asset to both us and our guests since it opened a few months ago. Once again, thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were in town for the BCS National Championship Game so the room was EXTREMELY overpriced (as was to be expected) & required a 4-night stay in order to obtain a reservation. This is a nice hotel that's in a good location relative to the Superdome. (It's just a few blocks down Poydras Street, so we were able to walk to the Dome & back...no worries about where to park or the additional cost of Dome parking).
Parking at the hotel is not included in the room cost, so that's an additional charge if you are using a car. The hotel's parking lot is toward the back & side of the hotel & is well-lit with security doing periodic checks. It is possible for the attendant to have you double or triple park, depending upon how full the hotel is, which then requires you to leave a key in order for your vehicle to be moved, if necessary.
The hotel staff were very nice, both at check-in & check-out, as well as any other times we had interaction with them during our stay.
The suite was nice, though it needed some minor cleaning throughout...which is the case at a lot of hotels, so I'm always sure to bring my own Lysol & antibacterial wipes.
Having a kitchen area with apartment-sized refrigerator, microwave, 2 stovetop burners, dishwasher, utensils & dishes was a plus since we were there for 5 days. Bring your own (or purchase upon arrival) dishwashing liquid, as well as extra paper towels & dishwasher detergent if you will be staying several days.
The bedroom area is separated with a door from the living/kitchen area, which is great if one person is wanting to sleep & someone else wants to watch tv, eat, read, etc. There are 2 televisions - one in the bedroom & one in the living area.
We were there during a very busy time; thus, there could be quite a bit of street noise at times. We took the advice of some other reviewers & requested a higher floor, which seemed to help. (I always bring a small fan, too when traveling to help drown out any possible outside noises...be it in the hall or out on the street).
Bed was comfortable.
Closet was spacious. (It's located in the vanity area).
Vanity area is spacious, too, but only one sink. The sink/vanity area is separated by a door from the shower/toliet room. But, the sink/vanity area opens into the bedroom. (No door to close it off, which could be a problem if one person has to be up early & others don't...the light or running water may be a problem).
Mother's Restaurant is several blocks down on Poydras & has great "classic Cajun-style dishes". Yum!
We had a car with us, but found it easiest to walk everywhere we went. The Riverwalk, French Quarter & Jackson Square are not terribly far from the hotel, but if you find walking to be difficult in your normal day to day activities, you probably need to consider having a car or taking a taxi to the areas mentioned above.
Overall we enjoyed our time at this hotel & would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2bcontinued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear 2bcontinued,

Thank you for staying with us during the BCS National Championship Game. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our spacious suites during your visit with us. Please feel free to contact me if I can ever be of future assistance. My contact info is keith.normand@dimdev.com or 504-581-5599. Once again, thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Ended up staying in this hotel because most others were booked during Mardi Gras. Why there were vacancies is beyond me--the hotel was very reasonable (think we paid under $200/night), they provide both breakfast and dinner, the rooms are HUGE, and the staff was as warm and friendly as almost any other non-Ritz Carlton hotel in which I've ever stayed.
Mardi Gras location is perfect--you are 2 blocks from the parade route, and a few more from the quarter. Getting in and out of the hotel during Mardi Gras can be a bit of a challenge due to traffic and parade routes, so get a schedule, and plan accordingly. Everyone complains about parking, but it's comparable with other hotels, and other than the fact that it's outdoors, it's a very minor hassle. Overall, two enthusiastic thumbs up. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atlantadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Atlantadog,

We are thrilled that you were pleasantly surpised with our hotel. We also appreciate you giving us an enthusiastic 2 thumbs up! New cuswtomers are important to us, but everyone knows that repeat clientele is definitely the backbone of any business. Once again, thank you for not only the wonderful endorsement, but also for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

clean, clean, clean all over the place. nice big rooms plenty of whatever you needed. Checkin, get dressed, leave and don't come back walking upright. this place was clean and that was the best part. Didn't need lounge, piano or bar (btw, there are bars in the french quarter), we used this room to sleep, shower and watch some TV....very little of all of it. In New Orleans as a visitor....GET OUT and enjoy it. This is our yearly adult only trip and if you saw 2 Vikings walking down the street Feb 4th that was ME !!!

Room Tip: A cab ride is $7 to get on Bourbon and back if you don't want to walk.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Gator007,

Thank you for staying with us earlier this month. We are ecstatic that you thought our hotel was clean, clean, clean all over the place, and that the rooms were spacious. We are sorry that we have to charge for parking. We do not own our parking lot, and regretfully parking is at a premium in our city due to the shortage of land & space. Please contact me if I can ever be of assistance. My contact info is keith.normand@dimdev.com or 504-581-5599.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews