We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans February 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #35 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We found it ideally situated, easy to walk to the French Quarter and also to get on one of the Paddle Steamers for a trip down the 'muddy Mississippi. We didn't eat at the hotel preferring to stroll to the coffee bars and restaurants to try the local fare.

It is an old hotel, only to be expected, but the staff were very helpful, we would stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormajoTampaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 775 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two days in January and really enjoyed this hotel. We booked late so we ended up taking one of the corner rooms on the street so there was street noise at night (to be expected in a busy city!) but that was the only drawback. The staff was top-notch - we loved leaving the key at the front desk when we left so we didn't have to worry about losing it on our travels! We spent a couple of sunny hours one afternoon in the courtyard by the pool, having a few drinks and reading (mostly resting our feet!) and we enjoyed that. The wi-fi worked great in the room and I also saw someone using their laptop in the courtyard.

The location is wonderful, especially if you like the music on Frenchman Street which we prefer over Bourbon Street. It was a short walk to everywhere we wanted to go so we will definately make this our hotel of choice for our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcbcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My traveling buddy found this fine little hotel. Its location is excellent, just blocks from the French Market & the river. Very safe, clean, quiet and relaxed. Not recommended for the party crowd. Right across the street from the pompous, self-important, ridiculously expensive Soniat and much nicer all around. We frequently go to New Orleans as we live only 2 1/2 hrs away and will make this our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albizzia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

found this little gem via tripadvisor reviews and then went to the hotel website. found their "jumpin january" special which offered a great rate and included multiple coupons for hotel breakfasts, drinks, and cafe du monde beignets and coffee. wife and i were there from jan 22 thru jan 28 and it was a wonderful stay. it is located at the extreme east edge of the quarter, between barracks and gov. nichols, but still very convenient to jackson square and the french market, as well as other quarter attractions. if you dont feel like hoofing it all the way to canal, the riverfront streetcar picks up right behind the french market. (hint: get the $3.00 unlimited daily pass,,unlimited rides, off and on, unlimited transfers from 8:00am to 4:00am daily) our room was on the 2nd floor and opened up to a long shared balcony overlooking chartres. the room was a tad small, but adequate and very nice and clean with a very comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. the under-the-counter refrigerator was a definite plus for keeping drinks and the occasional left-over in. you're definitely away from the noise and raucous bourbon street crowd at this place which makes for an excellent quiet night's sleep. as other reviewers have said, all the staff at this hotel really do go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you have a pleasant stay there. to say they are extremely helpful and nice would be an understatement. checking in and out were a breeze, their suggestions for tours and restaurants were right on, and although the hotel doesn't have a business center, the desk clerk printed out our boarding passes for our deptarture flight. the couryard area with the large pool is an excellent location to enjoy a late evening cocktail and cigar,,,a very peaceful setting. for those with cars, they have a secured parking area on the east side of the property. we would defintely stay here again. oh, they still use real metal door keys, not swipe cards, which they prefer you to leave at the desk when you go out. a good idea not having to be bothered with the possibility of losing the key.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casperntn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here on our way to Texas from Florida on 2-6-12. We literally decided this 2 hours prior to arrival and were referred here by a local B&B. We called to see if they had anything available and were helped very happily on the phone and at check in by Becky. We got in around 8pm and she gave us some directions on where to go to get some food near by. We found Mojitos Bar and Grill and got our first taste of French Quarter New Orleans. Best crab cakes ever, good music and atmosphere.
The next morning we got up and walked around the French Quarter to do the touristy thing. As we were taking our stuff to the car we were acknowledged by every staff member we passed with a "Good Morning." This is not something I'm very use to and was very nice.
For our first trip to New Orleans we were so happy that this is where we stayed and will gladly stay again in the future. I know everyone looks for a complaint so here is my only one: the bed was a little too firm for our liking but not to the point of not sleepable. Sorry but that is all I could come up with, everything else we loved about this hotel. If you want the nastalgic feel of classic New Orleans then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room on balcony side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darksideemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,664 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 167 in New Orleans
2,012 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 167 in New Orleans
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,355 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#109 of 167 in New Orleans
890 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#41 of 167 in New Orleans
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around New Orleans

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $171 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing