We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Got a great rate and the room was clean and functional. Thermostat panel partially ripped off the wall or screws were stripped but it still worked and wasn't a huge eyesore. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nova5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    499
    160
    58
    41
See reviews for
159
386
50
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The staff at the Pere Marquette was so on point that it made the whole stay impressive! The only negative was the slightly odd room that did not have a guest chair. The Miller desk chair was very nice but the only other place to sit was the bed and there were two of us. The hotel is very tight but very elegant. The interior of the room was a little worn but there were lovely touches like having the soap unwrapped in the shower.... we asked for an extra pillow when we were at the desk and it was arriving as we were.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theroaminpages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is just a block or two from the French Quarter... An ideal location away from all the noise and hub-bub of Bourbon Street. Although on rhe small side, rooms are comfortable. The staff here is attentive and nice to deal with. We were treated royally for our 40th anniversary weekend. Watch for special rates (ours was $159 with breakfast... A good deal in Nola).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Pere Marquette doesn't have a 4 story lobby with waterfalls and a marble exterior sign. But they work pretty hard to achieve a top rating among New Orleans' stiff hotel competition. I almost missed the 40's style sign over the main door, but later saw a more elegant entrance from the parking area. The reception clerks were friendly and efficient. Beyond the front desk there's a retro-decorated, stylish bar that was busy every night, a plush lobby, coffee bar, and the well-reviewed Mila restaurant. Elevators have a "This Car Up" sign that made me think of old-school department stores, but they are fast and I never had to wait more than a few seconds for one to appear.

My room was adequately sized with a well equipped bathroom, large closet, comfortable bed, and flat-screen TV with about 35 cable channels (HBO yes, HD reception, no). Thumbs up for the refrigerator and no mini-bar. There's an in-room safe and plenty of lights and electric outlets. Internet is wired only and expensive, but in the lobby it's free wifi that's the fastest hotel internet I've ever seen. The furniture was adequate but nothing special. The window looked out on a colorfully-lit swimming pool. Everything was clean and in good condition. I liked the framed photo of a New Orleans front door featuring my room number. The friendly concierge told me there's one in every room. Nice 4-star touch!

Room service was reasonably priced with an interesting menu. The concierge answered my questions about the city quickly and accurately. It's a convenient location but not lively - the downtown financial district is almost ghostly quiet at night, but just a short walk from Canal & Bourbon.

Some of the rooms are oddly shaped due to the triangular layout of the hotel building. My room had the TV in an alcove that was not visible from the desk. But the solid building is quiet and I rarely heard any noise at all from inside or outside. In the neighborhood I walked past some truly glitzy hotel palaces, like the nearby rich-relative J.W. Marriott. I don't think the Pere Marquette can quite live up to that standard, but they come pretty close.

Room Tip: I thought the room ending in 15 had the oddest shape on the hotel diagram, and one other room looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

As regular Marriott Guest I had my concerns as I rarely stay at Renaissance Hotels. However, I was pleasantly surprised upon arriving to the hotel. It actually started even before I reached the hotel as reviewing the details of my reservation, I discovered that I had been upgraded due to my Marriott Silver status. The staff was very friendly and the location of the hotel in relation to Bourbon Street was brilliant: close by but far enough! For a 272 room hotel, Pere Marquette had surprisingly 6 elevators!

The service was pleasant, just what I have grown to expect from a Marriott including all the usual amenities. What really impressed me was neither the hotel nor the room but the bathroom! It's size impressed me. There was plenty of space for to walk around with a with a separate shower cubicle. However, the only thing I was disappointed about was the fact the top floor's carpet needed to have been refurbished some time ago.

Overall, should I return to New Orleans, Pere Marquette will be my first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMax2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $154 - $464
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing