We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention Cruisers - Nice Room and a shuttle too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Ranked #76 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were told that this hotel is within the area considered the safe zone in New Orleans (but just barely). It is a nice hotel but the area surrounding it is under a lot construction and repair. Based on the locals walking the street late night and early morning I would be careful going out alone, but in a group we had no problems. The hotel provided shuttle service to the French Quarter, The Riverwalk and even took us to the Cruise ship port. The hotel shuttle only runs on the hour and is limited to the hours the staff person works. We found that it was easier to walk a few blocks to the streetcar. For small fee you can ride the tolley all the way down Canal Street and along the Riverwalk and Moonwalk all day long. The streetcar runs frequently so we used it often. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The only disappointing thing was that we found very few restaurants nearby so we ate breakfast in the hotel each morning. It was just ok and the staff were a little grumpy. What's on the menu may not still be available and there was no chance of getting it. Oh well, the rest of the trip was very good. As I mentioned, we were leaving New Orleans on a cruise. We decided to arrive 3 days prior to the cruise to visit New Orleans. This was the best idea we could have done.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry7e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 930 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Had a group of 26 people stay for one night before a cruise. management was very nice to work with in making the arrangements. Rooms were very clean and nice. Restaurant was a little pricey but convenient. Within walking distance of the French Quarter, they have free shuttle service but it only runs every hour.
Over all had a nice stay and would recommend it for a pre-cruise stay.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have balconies and all I saw were nice
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1dennis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of the French Quarter, restaurants and attractions including Street Car lines and the Super Done. We only ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and found it to be very good with a reasonably priced menu. The hotel and restaurant staff were very cordial and service focused. There is a shuttle service to the area of the Casino, which is a short walk to the French Market, Jackson Square and St Louis Cathedral in the lower part of the French Quarter.

In the last year, the rooms and hallways have been upgraded, including flat screen TVs. There is ample parking but we did not use it as we arrived via a bus excursion to Mardi Gras.

The only possible drawback to the hotel for some was the poor sound proofing of the window glass, which could affect light sleepers. The crowds leaving Mardi Gras and the sirens of emergency vehicles occurred regularly during the night. Thus, the sleep quality was rated very good, if you visit during Mardi Gras.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms numbers are sequential so if you want to look out towards the French Quarter and the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carefree2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The shuttle service is very handy, and run by the very friendly and accommodating Emmett.

It is a good value for a spacious and stylishly decorated room.

Room Tip: My room was high upi facing hte street, which was quite noisy, so I would try to avoid that
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irving S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and lived it! The room felt modern and luxurious. The bed and linens were very comfortable and we liked the flat screen tv and the great selection of channels. The only turn off about this hotel is the cost of parking! We couldn't believe it cost us $75 to park our car there for 3 nights. It really was a shock.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanadi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
#67 of 165 in New Orleans
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around New Orleans

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $129 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, IHG, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing