We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites are great and we enjoyed our stay with Drury Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Da Nang
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Suites are great and we enjoyed our stay with Drury Inns”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our two night stay being allocated a suite on floor 7 .
We requested a suite as we had a number of suitcases and the suite was quite large and provided the room to move with room to spare . The location of the hotel is quite handy to the French Quarter especially if you use the Street Car . The hotel was busy over the weekend and the number of staff rostered on did not increase to ensure customer care and service . The drinks and food session each evening left a bit to be desired as though the session is free to guests the quality of food was poor , not hot and the beer undrinkable . I did mention this however little action was taken by the overwhelmed staff member . Free food at a cost after all.
I rate the hotel well above average , however the food and drinks let us all down .

Room Tip: Don't be tempted to attend the food and drink sessions , they spoil the hotel stay and most gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank climax46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    534
    93
    25
    13
See reviews for
666
622
39
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis Metro
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We spent four nights here for a conference being held at the Hyatt Regency. As usual, we were thrilled with the Drury chain! First of all, the hotel rate was $74/night less than what my traveling partner from work paid to stay at the Hyatt. For the short, five minute walk to the conference, I’m glad I saved my company a few bucks and would rate this as a great value in New Orleans.

The hotel check in was great, but I agree that they need to do something about the parking. For $25/day, you’d think it would be a bit more organized. I guess the hotel construction, when finished, will help with that problem. Otherwise, the valets themselves were responsive and helpful. The front desk was very accommodating; when we asked to extend our stay by one night, Renaldo was gracious enough to make it happen, despite being told on the previous evening that the hotel was sold out.

Our room (#804) was clean, comfortable, and quiet despite facing the street. The free wi-fi worked as promised and was actually quite fast (a major accomplishment for most hotels). The lobby was clean and inviting. The breakfast buffet had enough selections, but it was extremely busy and it appeared they could have used a little more staff to manage through that busy time. We did not partake of the evening food and drink, but the happy hour crowd looked pretty happy.

We are walkers, and the hotel is convenient to most everything. This made it easy to get around during our night time excursions and my husband’s daytime matchbook collecting expeditions.

Overall, our stay was wonderful. We would not hesitate to stay here again and it is quite clear why the Drury Inn is ranked #1 in New Orleans hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doormold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We spent 2 nights here and 2 at the Marriott, and we spent the Marriott nights wishing we were here. The place does not look great, but it appears they are about to update it. The location is the central business district, but it is very close to the french quarter and close to lots of streetcars. The best qualities are the size of the room, the free breakfast and happy hour and the free wifi.
We went with a toddler and their crib was a little scary. The gym is 2 treadmils, but it has a great view and the pool is on the roof and they provide separate towels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maybrook
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel was beautiful. Practically sitting in the French Quarter. Great tv, great breakfast. Location was great. No negatives about this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

very close to french quarters and nearby other 5 star properties. although the rooms are a bit old, the hotel and is staff are good. lots of freebies - meal in the evening, popcorn etc. although the terrace pool is a bit small.

Room Tip: look for street facing rooms. do not go for rooms that are in the rear. the room windows are very sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,205 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,106 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,538 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $178 - $438
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing