We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at a Drury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here over Mardi Gras. Place was packed but staff did an excellent job in keeping everything clean. Hot tub on roof could have been a bit warmer but it was enjoyable and a interesting vantage point for a parade. Over all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,501 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the weekend before Mardi Gras. I was a bit apprehensive because of some reviews but overall I was pleased. The staff was very nice and helpful. We left our room early in the morning and several days near noon and upon our return our room was nice and tidy. We had a jacuzzi suite and it was quite spacious...enough room for much more than two people. There are two full size closets, mini fridge, flat panel TV, livingroom, and separate bedroom. The short walk to the French Quarter was nice and there is a Domino's just around the corner for an evening snack...or there are many nicer places that deliver to the hotel. Maybe the only little thing that kind of bothered us was the view. I am not sure if all jacuzzie suites are situated in the back corner of the hotel but our view was faced west and consisted primarily of two brick walls bordering the parking lot and some buildings off in the distance. Since we didn't spend much time in our room, the view did not bother us much. It was our first trip to New Orleans for some of the Mardi Gras festivities and we look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Get the Jacuzzi Suite! It's very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The guest services at the drury were very helpful and accommodating! The room is basic, however, very clean. The breakfast and mid-day snacks were very good! They throw in free wi-fi, and free night time calls...something hotels do not do. Overall, for a no frills type of place, we got a lot more than your other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

It lived up to all the reviews I read. Yes it is not a swanky 5 star but it clean, centrally located, good price, easy to get everwhere, and the people were very nice!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lithager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here both before a cruise and during Mardi Gras. I thought the location very good. Just a few blocks from the French Quarter (the cross street Carondelet turns into Bourbon Street) and one block north of St. Charles.

The price of your room includes wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, popcorn in the afternoon, and sodas all day. In the evening from 5:30 to 7:00 they offer free hot and cold snacks (chicken fingers, hot dogs, macaroni and cheese, chips, etc) and up to three complimentary cocktails. Be advised though that all of this food does not mean they have a restaurant or a bar. They do not.

The rooms we stayed in were clean, but a bit dated with thin bedspreads and somewhat lumpy pillows.

For Mardi Gras they issued wrist bands so that only people staying in the hotel could enter. They also closed a second entrance so that everyone had to pass by security. I appreciated the added security as Mardi Gras is a crazy time. Judging from the number of wrist bands I saw during our three days, I am guessing this is a common practice with a lot of the hotels.

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cubechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,878 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,634 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around New Orleans

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $167 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing