We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting experience on a paddlewheeler” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creole Queen Mississippi River Cruises

Creole Queen Mississippi River Cruises
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Creole Queen is an authentic paddlewheeler that takes guests on day and night cruises for a totally different view of the Crescent City from the Mississippi River.
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An interesting experience on a paddlewheeler”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We took a dinner cruise and chose this boat because our resort gave us a $18.00 discount coupon off the $144 regular price. We bought the tickets early in the day in order to avoid any lines later. We got to the gangplank in the first dozen people and when they started boarding we were told we needed boarding passes !!! I had to run back to the ticket booth stand in line for 20 minutes before getting the passes, the person there was the same as when we bought the tickets just said sorry when I complained that we should have got thes passes when we paid. As a result we were only able to get a poorer table location as all the others had been taken by earlier guests.
The buffet style food choice was mediocre, and not hot, the salads soggy and the brisket dry. The best part was the bread pudding which was very good.
The Jazz band was excellent and had a great repertoire also the table service for wine and drinks was first class.
We enjoyed the after dinner seating on the upper decks looking at the lights of New Orleans.
Overall I am not sure that the trip was worth the money, but the experience of being on a paddlewheeler certainly was.
There is another paddlewheeler Nachez, I think the next time we will try that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rossbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    331
    155
    48
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing night cruise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We took the evening dinner cruise hoping to get some good food, good music, and scenery. Well, we didn't get good food. It was passable at best. The beef brisket was tough enough to be almost like Beef Jerky. The Caesar Salad was starting to wilt. The Gumbo I could not eat. However, the Red Beans and Rice were good enough for me to have seconds. The rest of the food was just OK. The music was no better. They had a 3 piece jazz band. Unfortunately, the trumpet player missed so many notes that it was hard to listen to and he played all during dinner. His singing was better, sounded similar to Louis Armstrong. They played upstairs later in the evening and we made sure to be on the other side of the boat. I agree with another reviewer that the music over the intercom (in the interim) should have been good New Orleans jazz but instead was just a bunch of songs unrelated in style. We were with two other couples and they felt exactly the same as I. The boat ride itself was nice. The weather was perfect. I like to see the city lights at night.
I wish I would have taken the cruise in the daytime, without the food and music. For $72 a person, it was NOT worth it. If you want to go at night, eat dinner first and pay $32 less for just the boat ride.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice river cruise - too rushed for history lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We enjoyed our trip up the Mississippi on the Creole Queen to the Chalmette National Park, the site of the last battle in the War of 1812. The captain did a great job describing the sights along the waterfront, including descriptions of all the huge ships that were on the river. We were looking forward to learning more about the battle but only had about 20 minutes at the site. The park ranger did a great job but it would have been more enjoyable if we'd had a bit more time.

We loved hearing the "Battle of New Orleans" as we arrived at the park..."In 1814 we took a little trip along with Colonel Jackson down the mighty Mississip..."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KathleenC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We went on the afternoon cruise. There a stop at the Battle of New Orleans sight but there was no ranger available that day for the tour of this historic sight. We stopped for about 45 mins here and then returned to the city. We expected to go further down the River and felt a bit short changed when we didn't. We also expected the boat to be smoke free, but it wasn't.
The commentary on the boat was good and the staff were polite and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucyznana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“LOOKING AT OUR HISTORY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We joined the creaol queen at 1-30 and set off on a memorable cruise down the Mississippi, it was a slow leisurely ride down the river with a good comentary of points of interest, we travelled down stream to where the British and Americans had fought the battle of New Orleans and visited the battlefield and site where the soldiers were buried, food served aboard was reasoinably priced and appetizing, the whole trip was a pleasure and well worth doing

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank irist2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Creole Queen Mississippi River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Creole Queen Mississippi River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing