We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great bed, Lousy towels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #100 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just got back from 5 nights at this hotel. It gets great pluses for being in one of the best locations. A 2 block walk to catch the trolley and a 3 block walk to the French Quarter. It was also an easy walk to the Civil War and WW2 Museums. The beds were so comfy and they have room darkening shades which helped when needing to nap after an early flight into town. The one big drawback is the towels which are about the worst I've ever had in a hotel. This is what keeps the rating at 3 stars for me. The bathroom as well as the shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were fine so I'm not sure why they scrimped on the towels. The hotel also has a fitness room but it's very limited in size with 1 treadmill, 2 bikes, and 2 stair machines. The treadmill was broken and one of the bikes had a broken seat that would not lock in place. I also had trouble getting hot water on the first day, but the maintenance man came to my room and fixed the problem. They have a coffee shop which serves Starbucks coffee but in terms of hotel bar or restaurant, this hotel is very no frills. There's a Sushi restaurant next door which has a separate entrance from the street but you can also get to it through the hotel lobby. Unfortunately, it wasn't really a good bar-type atmosphere but the French Quarter was filled with all kinds of options for that! It was nice to have free Wi-fi. It seems so many hotels charge you for this these days.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms overlook the interior atrium. We had a room facing Baronne Street but all we saw w...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurieLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,229)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,883 - 1,887 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Right on St. Charles, the Wyndham Plaza was across the street from the streetcar and all attractions the French Quarter holds. We had a studio apartment with plenty of room, a spacious bathroom, refrigerator, dishwasher and cooktop. The kitchen was not lavishly furnished; what's the use of a cooktop if you have no pots and pans? Two glasses, two plates, two knives, forks, and spoons; it would be hard to vacation with such sparse supplies. But the decor was lovely; the init was obviously recently decorated. The price about as reasonable as you can get in the French Quarter. These are time shares; I'd steer clear of the usual high-pressure sales pitch. The pool was very small; don't count on getting much exercise in it. It's purely for cooling off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing St. Charles
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassillonJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Clearly one pays for location when staying at this hotel. The said, the location was fantastic, just a few blocks from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the walls were very thin and I was awakened by the alarm clocks of others for the duration of my stay. Additionally, the walls were bare, and the rooms were small. My room, as well as many others, had one window that looked out onto a sitting area and other rooms. The bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly, but not worth the price, in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you want a window with a view to the outside, ask. : )
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeeper06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Seldom do you find a hotel that offers a perfect location, value, history, cleanliness and top notch hospitality from every staff member, all bundled into one. This was the wow factor! I was there for six days on a business convention and each day was pure pleasure. Each and every person who worked at this property was professional, helpful and accommodating. I hope that Wyndham sends me a customer comment card because I wrote down every person's name who helped make my stay one of the best times I have had in over 25 years of travel.

Room Tip: I personally liked the room overlooking the interior, which many of them have due to the nature of t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, close to everything , but not right in the middle of the crowds .I don't like the French decor that a lot of the New Orleans hotels have, and this hotel had a nice and modern look. Pretty close to all the bars and shopping. The bathroom was huge , with a nice stand up shower with great water pressure. The beds were nice and comfy. I had a room facing the inside corridor so there was no balcony or window, but I knew that before booking..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LacySpikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 165 in New Orleans
1,414 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#76 of 165 in New Orleans
1,262 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around New Orleans

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $106 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing